Alex Bradford Lifetime Believing / Black Man's Lament (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Alex Bradford
SALE: $3.98
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $12.99 (77% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  COL 6812
Brand New
2 Original LPs On 2 CDs

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

"Professor" Alex Bradford is best known as a leading gospel songwriter and for his work in the international stage hit Black Nativity. Twenty songs from two original Cotillion albums, including highlights "My Life Is Getting Sweeter," "Black Man's Lament," and "Lead Me Now" can be heard on this two disc set.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I Love To Tell The Story
  • 2.I've Gotta Go
  • 3.Be My Friend
  • 4.Sunday Mo'nin' Interlude
  • 5.Goin' On Through
  • 6.Christ Is Interested
  • 7.Letter To The U.N
  • 8.My Life Is Getting Sweeter
  • 9.A Wretch Like Me
  • 10.I've Spent A Lifetime

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Do It While You Can
  • 2.It Is Thy Servant's Prayer A-Men
  • 3.Black Man's Lament
  • 4.I'm Alright Now
  • 5.Waiting
  • 6.That's What The Bible Say
  • 7.Just Another Name
  • 8.Lead Me Now
  • 9.Something Happened Today
  • 10.Goodnight Goodbye

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Alex Bradford (vocals, piano, celeste); Lawrence Lucie, Kenneth Ballard (guitar); Alberta Bradford (piano); Kenneth Rayborn (organ); Gordon Edwards (bass); Earl Williams, Charles Simons (drums); Dave Blocker (bongos, congas); The Bradford Singers; Barry Currington & The Young Peoples
Chorale Of The Cornerstone Baptist Church Of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
Recorded at Atlantic Records, New York, New York. Originally released on Cotillion.
Personnel: Prof. Alex Bradford (vocals, piano, celesta); Alan Fontaine, Kenny Ballard (guitar); Alberta Carter Bradford (piano, celesta, background vocals); Kenneth Rayborn (organ); Earl Williams, Charlie Simons (drums); Dave Blocker (congas, bongos); Edwin Swanston (percussion, chimes); Kenneth Washington, Thomas J. Fouse, Robert Hill, Leonard Copeland, Carl Bean (background vocals).
Recording information: Atlantic Recording Studio, NY.
Arranger: Robert Banks .
A pair of albums made in 1971-1972 for Atlantic Records' Cotillion subsidiary. The songs are longer, in the fashion of the day, so two discs are required, but the extra time still isn't enough to let Bradford rock the studio the way he does a church. He seems caught up as much in the mechanics of record making as in the spirit. Still, the songs remain strong -- "Letter to the U.N.," from A Lifetime even turns over some new ground, and "Something Happened Today" offers historian Anthony Heilbut a chance to try his hand at lyric writing. Notes and packaging are generic Collectables stuff. ~ Dave Marsh

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
BLACK MAN'S LAMENT Music Lover: from Manchester, MD US -- October, 29, 2004

I love it! Of all the songs, "That's What The Bible Say" and "Something Happened Today" are the greatest song!

"That's What The Bible Say" speaks on the Vietnam War during the 1960's. I've always felt that Alex Bradford was one of the most creative artist there ever was. And it's amazing how he could create a way to teach a lesson about Vietnam and death through his Gospel song.


Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 9,259
  • UPC: 090431681220
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)