Willie Rodriguez Flatjacks

SALE: $4.98
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $10 (67% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZNL 9331
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 17, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Milestone


  • 1.Moliendo Cafe
  • 2.Serenata
  • 3.Nanigo Soul
  • 4.Mr. Yosso
  • 5.Brasileira
  • 6.One Foot in the Gutter
  • 7.It Happened in Monterey
  • 8.Flatjacks (Just A Minor Bass-a-Nova)
  • 9.Seafood Wally
  • 10.After Words
  • 11.Tasty
  • 12.El Sueno de Frances

Product Description:

Willie Rodriguez Jazz Quartet: Willie Rodriguez (drums, percussion); Seldon Powell (alto & tenor saxophones, flute, clarinet); Barry Galbraith (guitar); George Duvivier (bass).
Recorded in New York City, New York in July & August 1963.
Personnel: Willie Rodriguez (drums, bongos, percussion); Barry Galbraith (guitar); Seldon Powell (flute, clarinet, saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone).
Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
Liner Note Author: Ed Michel.
Recording information: New York, NY (1964); Plaza Sound Studios, New York, NY (1964).
Flatjacks by Latin perscussionist Willie Rodriguez is one of the few dates to feature his name as a leader. Rarer still is that this is one of the few sessions where Rodriguez is the actual drummer in a quartet. This does not mean he left his arsenal of percussion instruments at home, but rather they complement his drumming in a straight jazz quartet setting. Featuring the great George Duvivier on bass, melodic genius Barry Galbraith on guitar, and saxophone wunderkind Seldon Powell, Flatjacks was recorded in New York in 1963, was released on Milestone, and quickly disappeared without a trace -- with the exception of being revered by jazz musicians of the day. Featuring tunes by everyone in the band -- including the smoking bossa nova of the tile track by Duvivier and the funky "Tasty" by Powell -- this set also features unlikely tomes from Clark Terry ("One Foot in the Gutter") and Ed Michel ("After Words"). But it is Rodriguez's compositions such as "Mr. Yosso," "¥a¤igo Soul," "Seafood Wally," and the legendary "Brasileira" that are the standouts here. Rodriguez's ability to walk the three lines that matter -- namely swing, Latin styles, and the blues -- with equal precision and grace as well as passion give his material a deeply textured soulful feel that is tough to match, let alone beat. This record swings on the post-bop and contemporary bossa level, yet it's always a surprise to hear the blues spoken and referred to so constantly and prominently. This is one of those reissues that should have happened years ago. Flatjacks is brilliant, sunny, and masterful. ~ Thom Jurek
Rare and Out-of-Print CDs only $4.98

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 38,229
  • UPC: 025218933124
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)