Led Zeppelin The Song Remains the Same [Box Set] (2-CD + 4-LP + 3-DVD + Book)

Uncut: 4 stars out of 5 -- "The sound is vastly improved, as is the playing of the musicians....The 15 tracks showboat, strut and snarl."
Get email alerts for Led Zeppelin
Price: $231.80
List Price: $249.98
You Save: $18.18 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
17 copies available
Format:  Vinyl LP  (9 Records)
item number:  6QCKE
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Number of Records: 9
  • Released: September 7, 2018
  • Originally Released: 1976
  • Label: Atlantic

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.93
4 stars out of 5 -- "The sound is vastly improved, as is the playing of the musicians....The 15 tracks showboat, strut and snarl."
Kerrang (Magazine) - pp.46-47
"The slower, bluesier 'Since I've Been Loving You' is a lick-laden tour de force..."
Blender (Magazine) - p.156
3 stars out of 5 -- "Bonham carries the day: a primeval booty monster at the top of the heap, climbing toward heaven."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.84
4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] cohesive, often thrilling live album, restoring the reputation of a once much maligned project."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Rock and Roll
  • 2.Celebration Day
  • 3.Black Dog
  • 4.Over the Hills and Far Away
  • 5.Misty Mountain Hop
  • 6.Since I've Been Loving You
  • 7.No Quarter
  • 8.The Song Remains the Same
  • 9.The Rain Song
  • 10.The Ocean

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Dazed and Confused
  • 2.Stairway to Heaven
  • 3.Moby Dick
  • 4.Heartbreaker
  • 5.Whole Lotta Love

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Rock and Roll
  • 2.Celebration Day
  • 3.Black Dog
  • 4.Over the Hills and Far Away
  • 5.Misty Mountain Top
  • 6.Since I've Been Loving You
  • 7.The Ocean

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Dazed and Confused
  • 2.Moby Dick

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Stairway to Heaven
  • 2.Heartbreaker
  • 3.Whole Lotta Love

Product Description:

Led Zeppelin: Robert Plant (vocals); Jimmy Page (guitar); John Paul Jones (bass, piano); John Bonham (drums).
Recorded live at Madison Square Garden, New York, New York. Includes liner notes by Cameron Crowe.
Audio Remasterer: Jimmy Page.
Commonly dismissed as a disappointment upon its initial release, the soundtrack to Led Zeppelin's concert movie The Song Remains the Same is one of those '70s records that has aged better than its reputation -- it's the kind of thing that's more valuable as the band recedes into history than it was at the time, as it documents its time so thoroughly. Of course, that time would be the mid-'70s, when Led Zep were golden gods, selling out stadiums across America and indulging their wildest desires both on and off stage. Theirs was the kind of excess that creates either myth or madness, and this 1976 live album -- comprised of highlights from their three shows at Madison Square Garden during July 1973 -- has its fair share of both, as Zeppelin sounds both magnificent and murky as they blow up songs from their first five albums to a ridiculously grand scale. This is not the vigorous, vicious band documented on the subsequently released live BBC Sessions or the majestic might of the 2003 live album How the West Was Won and its accompanying eponymous DVD, where the band still sounded tight even when they stretched out for 20 minutes. Here, on a show documented just about 18 months after those on How the West..., the group were starting to let their status as stars go to their head ever so slightly. They no longer sound hungry; they sound settled, satisfied at their status as rock overlords and, since a huge part of Zeppelin's appeal is their sheer scale, hearing them at their most oversized on The Song Remains the Same is not without its charm. This, more than any of their studio albums, captures both the grandiosity and entitlement that earned the band scorn among certain quarters of rock critics and punk rockers in the mid-'70s, which makes it a valuable historical document in an odd way, as the studio records are such magnificent constructions and the archival live albums so powerful. Plus, there is a certain sinister charm to the sheer spectacle chronicled on The Song Remains the Same, particularly in the greatly expanded 2007 reissue, which adds six previously unreleased tracks, helping pump up this already oversized album into something truly larger than life. At this stage, Zeppelin seemed concerned only with pleasing themselves, but they only did so because they could -- others tried to mimic them, but nobody could get the sheer size of their sound, which was different yet equally as monstrous on-stage as it was on record. It wasn't as consistent on-stage as it was on record, though -- a half-hour "Dazed and Confused" may be the stuff of legend, but it's still a chore to get through -- but the very fact that Led Zeppelin could take things so far is part of their mystique, and nowhere is that penchant for excess better heard than on The Song Remains the Same.
[In 2018, The Song Remains the Same was issued as a Super Deluxe edition, containing CD, vinyl, and Blu-Ray editions of the album.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 113,296
  • UPC: 603497859405
  • Shipping Weight: 5.98/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 15 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)