The Stanley Brothers Complete Columbia Recordings

Complete Columbia Recordings
Get email alerts for The Stanley Brothers
17 ratings
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  SSP 49457
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 12, 1996
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - 6/96, p.117
"...songs like 'The Drunkard's Hell' may be haunted and traditionalist, but the tempos are often jumping and the screeched harmonies almost giddy with the possibilities postwar money had opened up..."


  • 1.A Vision of Mother
  • 2.The White Dove
  • 3.Gathering Flowers for the Master's Bouquet
  • 4.Angels Are Singing (In Heaven Tonight)
  • 5.It's Never Too Late to Start Over
  • 6.Have You Someone (In Heaven Waiting)
  • 7.Little Glass of Wine
  • 8.Let Me Be Your Friend
  • 9.We'll Be Sweethearts in Heaven
  • 10.I Love No One But You
  • 11.Too Late to Cry
  • 12.The Old Home
  • 13.The Drunkard's Hell
  • 14.The Fields Have Turned Brown
  • 15.Hey! Hey! Hey!
  • 16.The Lonesome River
  • 17.I'm a Man of Constant Sorrow
  • 18.Pretty Polly
  • 19.A Life of Sorrow
  • 20.Sweetest Love
  • 21.The Wandering Boy
  • 22.Let's Part the Best of Friends

Product Description:

The Stanley Brothers: Carter Stanley (vocals, guitar); Ralph Stanley (vocals, banjo).
Additional personnel: Darrell "Pee Wee" Lambert (vocals, mandolin); George Shuffler (vocals, fiddle, bass); Robert "Bobby" Sumner, Les Woodie (fiddle); James "Jay" Hughes, Ernest "Ernie" Newton (bass)
Recorded in Nashville, Tennessee between 1949 & 1952.
This is part of Legacy's Country Classics series.
Recording information: Nashville, TN (03/01/1949); Nashville, TN (04/11/1952); Nashville, TN (11/03/1950); Nashville, TN (11/20/1949).
This 22-song set brings together the complete recordings that Ralph and Carter Stanley made for Columbia Records between 1949 and 1952. In addition to collecting some of the Stanley Brothers' finest songs, this compilation is also an excellent representation of their inimitable bluegrass sound. With Ralph's superb banjo picking and angelic high tenor complementing Carter's acoustic guitar and clear, emotionally charged lead vocals, the Stanleys took the rootsy sound of Bill Monroe and brought it even deeper into the mountains, evoking the lonely ghost of early rural America.
There are songs here that burn with near-mythic power. Carter's baleful "I'm a Man of Constant Sorrow" and Ralph's grimly tragic "Pretty Polly" are two such examples. There are also songs of acute loneliness ("Too Late to Cry"), meditations on the afterlife ("Gathering Flowers for the Master's Bouquet"), and the occasional sprightly foot-stomper ("Hey! Hey! Hey!), each of which have the indelible feel of a classic. Though accompanied throughout by a bass, mandolin, and fiddle player, it is the dense, ringing harmonies and the sweet, aching quality of the songs that really dazzles. Beautifully restored sound and informative liner notes add to what is already a near-perfect collection.

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 10,101
  • UPC: 886974945727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)