George Harrison The Dark Horse Years 1976-1992 (7-CD Box Set)

The Dark Horse Years 1976-1992 (7-CD Box Set)
Get email alerts for George Harrison
47 ratings
Sale: $118.78
WINTER SALE: $109.82 Limited Time Only
List Price: $131.98
You Save: $22.16 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (7 Discs)
sku:  34W6V
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 7
  • Released: February 24, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - 4/04, p.118
3 stars out of 5 - "[T]he set is welcome - and strangely comforting."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Woman Don't You Cry For Me
  • 2.Dear One
  • 3.This Song
  • 4.See Yourself
  • 5.It's What You Value
  • 6.True Love
  • 7.Pure Smokey
  • 8.Crackerbox Palace
  • 9.Learning How To Love You
  • 10.Tears Of The World - (bonus track)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Love Comes To Everyone
  • 2.Not Guilty
  • 3.Here Comes The Moon
  • 4.Soft Hearted Hana
  • 5.Blow Away
  • 6.Faster
  • 7.Dark Sweet Lady
  • 8.Your Love Is Forever
  • 9.Soft Touch
  • 10.If You Believe
  • 11.Here Comes The Moon - (demo version, bonus track)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Blood From A Clone
  • 2.Unconsciousness Rules
  • 3.Life Itself
  • 4.All Those Years Ago
  • 5.Baltimore Oriole
  • 6.Teardrops
  • 7.That Which I Have Lost
  • 8.Writing's On The Wall
  • 9.Hong Kong Blues
  • 10.Save The World
  • 11.Save The World - (demo version, bonus track)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Wake Up My Love
  • 2.That's The Way It Goes
  • 3.I Really Love You
  • 4.Greece
  • 5.Gone Troppo
  • 6.Mystical One
  • 7.Unknown Delight
  • 8.Baby Don't Run Away
  • 9.Dream Away
  • 10.Circles
  • 11.Mystical One - (demo version, bonus track)

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Cloud Nine
  • 2.That's What It Takes
  • 3.Fish On The Sand
  • 4.Just For Today
  • 5.This Is Love
  • 6.When We Was Fab
  • 7.Devil's Radio
  • 8.Someplace Else
  • 9.Wreck Of The Hesperus
  • 10.Breath Away From Heaven
  • 11.Got My Mind Set On You
  • 12.Shanghai Surprise - (bonus track)
  • 13.Zig Zag - (bonus track)

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.I Want To Tell You
  • 2.Old Brown Shoe
  • 3.Taxman
  • 4.Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth)
  • 5.If I Needed Someone
  • 6.Something
  • 7.What Is Life
  • 8.Dark Horse
  • 9.Piggies
  • 10.Got My Mind Set On You

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • 1.Cloud Nine
  • 2.Here Comes The Sun
  • 3.My Sweet Lord
  • 4.All Those Years Ago
  • 5.Cheer Down
  • 6.Devil's Radio
  • 7.Isn't It A Pity
  • 8.While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  • 9.Roll Over Beethoven

Product Description:

The 2-CD LIVE IN JAPAN is a multi-channel hybrid Super Audio CD playable on both regular and Super Audio CD players. THE DARK HORSE YEARS also includes a bonus DVD featuring song videos and concert footage from LIVE IN JAPAN.
Personnel includes: George Harrison (vocals, guitar, mandolin, marimba, synthesizer, bass, percussion); Jeff Lynne (guitar, keyboards, bass); Eric Clapton (guitar, background vocals); Jim Horn (tenor & baritone saxophones); Tom Scott (saxophone, flute, lyricon); Herbie Flowers (tuba, bass); Richard Tee (piano, Fender Rhodes piano, organ); Billy Preston (piano, organ, synthesizer); Elton John (piano); David Foster (Fender Rhodes piano, Clavinet); Steve Winwood (harmonium, Polymoog, Mini Moog, background vocals); Gary Wright (piano, Oberheim, keyboards); Emil Richards (marimba); Willie Weeks (bass); Ray Cooper (drums, percussion); Ringo Starr, Jim Keltner, Andy Newmark, Alvin Taylor (drums).
Producers include: George Harrison, Jeff Lynne, Russ Titelman, Ray Cooper, Phil McDonald.
Includes liner notes by Olivia Harrison and David Fricke.
A beautifully packaged collection, this set compiles all of the solo albums George Harrison released on his own Dark Horse label, from 1976's THIRTY-THREE & 1/3 to 1992's two-disc LIVE IN JAPAN. Although this period marked some creative valleys for the former Beatle, his slightest songs still outshine most artists' best offerings, and THE DARK HORSE YEARS boasts numerous high points.
Confident yet relaxed, THIRTY-THREE & 1/3 and 1979's self-titled album are particularly notable for the inclusion of songs that were nearly Beatles tracks ("Beautiful Girl" and "Not Guilty," respectively). The following albums, SOMEWHERE IN ENGLAND and GONE TROPPO find Harrison flirting with a distinctively '80s, synth-based sound, while 1987's blissed-out, Jeff Lynne-produced CLOUD NINE marks Harrison's welcome return to the pop charts ("Got My Mind Set on You"). Finally, LIVE IN JAPAN features Harrison performing solo and Beatles hits (including "Something," "Here Comes the Sun," and "While My Guitar Gently Weeps") onstage with longtime friend Eric Clapton and his band. On each of these Dark Horse records, Harrison's past with the Beatles is still tangible, but the Fab Four connection never eclipses his own distinctive songwriting and always-impressive guitar playing. The six-album box set also includes an exclusive 75-minute DVD that presents concert footage, videos, and interviews, making THE DARK HORSE YEARS essential for any Harrison fan.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,485
  • UPC: 724359705101
  • Shipping Weight: 2.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 7 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)