Unthanks Here's the Tender Coming

Here's the Tender Coming
Get email alerts for Unthanks
4 ratings
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $2.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
sku:  32FQW
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 14, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: EMI Import

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - p.92
"[I]ts doomed subjects are well served by the band's dark, gentle strums and ghostly piano lines."
4 stars out of 5 -- "[There is] a wintry eloquence to much of TENDER....Rarely has the deep past sounded so stirring, or so modern."
Q (Magazine) - p.112
3 stars out of 5 -- "Their trad arrangements of others' songs are bewitching, particularly the haunting sad 'Annachie Gordon'..."


  • 1.Because He Was A Bonny Lad
  • 2.Sad February
  • 3.Annachie Gordon
  • 4.Lucky Gilchrist
  • 5.The Testimony of Patience Kershaw
  • 6.Living By The Water
  • 7.Where've Yer Bin Dick
  • 8.Nobody Knew She Was There
  • 9.Flowers of The Town
  • 10.Not Much Luck In Our House
  • 11.At First She Starts
  • 12.Here's The Tender Coming
  • 13.Betsy Bell

Product Description:

It could have been commercial suicide. In the wake of a breakthrough success, Rachel Unthank & the Winterset have not only changed the band's name to the more encompassing and curate the Unthanks, they've also made huge personnel changes. It's certainly not a strategy a marketing man would recommend, but this is a band that's always been about the art, not the commercial success. The basis remains folk music from the Northeast of England, and the fuller sound of a nine-piece band changes the backing and fills it out splendidly, with bass and drums giving a firm foundation. The focus on the singing of sisters Rachel and Becky Unthank is, if anything, firmer than before, and nowhere is that clearer than on the harrowing "The Testimony of Patience Kershaw," about child labor in the Victorian mines, or the heartbreaking beauty of the traditional "Annachie Gordon." However, although there's plenty of gloom and doom on this disc, it's leavened by some lighter spots, such as "Betsy Belle." For the most part, it works, the only real failure coming with a cover of Lal Waterson's "At First She Starts," a piece so personal that outsiders trying to find a way into it are largely doomed -- but it's a brave attempt, and says a lot about the scope and confidence of the group. Musically, there's much greater richness and variety in the arrangements now, heightening the shadings that have always been there, and bringing them to the fore, while also making it easier for a wider audience. ~ Chris Nickson

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5099968712228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)