Dischord 1981: The Year in Seven Inches
by Various Artists

Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  6XQ4R
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 14, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Dischord


  • 1.Teen Idles - The Teen Idles
  • 2.Sneakers - The Teen Idles
  • 3.Get Up and Go - The Teen Idles
  • 4.Deadhead - The Teen Idles
  • 5.Fleeting Fury - The Teen Idles
  • 6.Fiorucci Nightmare - The Teen Idles
  • 7.Getting in My Way - The Teen Idles
  • 8.Too Young to Rock - The Teen Idles
  • 9.Lost in Space - State of Alert (SOA)
  • 10.Draw Blank - State of Alert (SOA)
  • 11.Girl Problems - State of Alert (SOA)
  • 12.Blackout - State of Alert (SOA)
  • 13.Gate Crashers - State of Alert (SOA)
  • 14.Warzone - State of Alert (SOA)
  • 15.Riot - State of Alert (SOA)
  • 16.Gang Fight - State of Alert (SOA)
  • 17.Public Defender - State of Alert (SOA)
  • 18.Gonna Hafta Fight - State of Alert (SOA)
  • 19.Filler - Minor Threat
  • 20.I Don't Wanna Hear It - Minor Threat
  • 21.Seeing Red - Minor Threat
  • 22.Straight Edge - Minor Threat
  • 23.Small Man, Big Mouth - Minor Threat
  • 24.Screaming at a Wall - Minor Threat
  • 25.Bottled Violence - Minor Threat
  • 26.Minor Threat - Minor Threat
  • 27.Religious Ripoff - Government Issue
  • 28.Fashionite - Government Issue
  • 29.Rock'n Roll Bullshit - Government Issue
  • 30.Anarchy Is Dead - Government Issue
  • 31.Sheer Terror - Government Issue
  • 32.Asshole - Government Issue
  • 33.Bored to Death - Government Issue
  • 34.No Rights - Government Issue
  • 35.I'm James Dean - Government Issue
  • 36.Cowboy Fashion - Government Issue
  • 37.In My Eyes - Minor Threat
  • 38.Out of Step - Minor Threat
  • 39.Guilty of Being White - Minor Threat
  • 40.(I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone - Minor Threat
  • 41.It's About Time That We Had a Change - Youth Brigade
  • 42.Full Speed Ahead - Youth Brigade
  • 43.Point of View - Youth Brigade
  • 44.Barbed Wire - Youth Brigade
  • 45.Pay No Attention - Youth Brigade
  • 46.Wrong Decision - Youth Brigade
  • 47.No Song - Youth Brigade
  • 48.No Song II - Youth Brigade

Product Description:

Personnel: Nathan Strejcek, Ian MacKaye, Henry Garfield, John Stabb (vocals); Mike Hampton , Geordie Grindle, Lyle Preslar (guitar); Jeff Nelson (drums).
Audio Mixer: Skip Groff.
Liner Note Author: Jeff Nelson.
Recording information: Inner Ear Studios (12/1980-07/1981).
Photographers: Jay Rabinowitz; Susie Josephson.
Dischord 1981: The Year in Seven Inches tells the story of the origins of the one of the first hardcore punk labels and the early D.C. hardcore scene. When the Teen Idles had no one to release their posthumous record, Ian MacKaye and Jeff Nelson took $600 in the band's gig money and made it themselves. Like every band on this album, the Teen Idles were meagerly recorded on a four-track, giving them a raw sound that came to characterize the early hardcore scene. The album kicks off with "Teen Idles," a 44-second anthem that ends with the memorable line "We're as idle as teens can get." Debuts of four other D.C. bands follow. A young Henry Garfield (later known as Henry Rollins) is heard chanting with S.O.A. (State of Alert). With the breakup of the Teen Idles, Nelson and MacKaye went onto form Minor Threat, whose classics "Straight Edge" and "Minor Threat" appear along with "In My Eyes" and "Out of Step" from its second EP. The hard-driving, super-fast songs of Government Issue and Youth Brigade bring the record's total to 48 tracks, all for eight bucks. ~ Ron DePasquale

Product Info

  • UPC: 643859014028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)