Talking Heads True Stories

Get email alerts for Talking Heads
27 ratings
SALE: $11.98
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1 (8% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZENG 86962
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 20, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Emi Europe Generic


  • 1.Love For Sale
  • 2.Puzzlin' Evidence
  • 3.Hey Now
  • 4.Papa Legba
  • 5.Wild Wild Life
  • 6.Radio Head
  • 7.Dream Operator
  • 8.People Like Us
  • 9.City of Dreams
  • 10.Wild Wild Life [Extended Mix]
  • 11.Papa Legba [Pops Staples Vocal Version] - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.Radio Head [Tito Larriva Vocal Version] - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

This is not the soundtrack to the movie of the same name. It contains the same songs, but performed by the Talking Heads. (In the movie, the various actors sing the songs.)
Talking Heads: David Byrne (vocals, guitar); Jerry Harrison (guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Tina Weymouth (bass, background vocals); Chris Frantz (drums).
Additional personnel: Tommy Morrell (steel guitar); Tommy Camfield (fiddle); Steve Jordan (accordion); Paulinho da Costa (percussion); The Bert Cross Choir, The St. Thomas Aquinas Elementary School Choir.
Principally recorded at Studio Southwest, Sunnyvale, Texas.
Audio Mixer: Eric "ET" Thorngren.
Recording information: Sigma Sound, New York.
Photographer: David Byrne.
Heads leader David Byrne directed the film True Stories, which layed out the surreal vision of modern American life often expressed in Talking Heads songs. In the film, the songs Byrne wrote for it are sung by the actors, but this album features the Talking Heads' own versions of those compositions. Though it came towards the end of their career, TRUE STORIES is perhaps the most '80s-sounding Heads album, the recordings full of compression, electronic percussion and synthesizers.
The songs pick up on the heavily rhythmic, world music-inflected sound the band established a few years earlier, but with more of a pop/rock compositional approach. Despite the relative lack of sonic experimentation or quirkiness, there are some solid tunes here, like the catchy, funky "Puzzlin' Evidence" and the album's sole hit "Wild, Wild Life," an ironic rocker that could have come straight off LITTLE CREATURES.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 96,309
  • UPC: 5099930869622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)