Woody Guthrie Woody Guthrie & Cisco Houston, Volumes 1 & 2

Get email alerts for Woody Guthrie
3 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 5605
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

On these two volumes, you'll hear Woody Guthrie with Cisco Houston, his traveling companion and harmony singer.


  • 1.Gypsy Davy
  • 2.More Pretty Gals Than One
  • 3.Pretty Boy Floyd
  • 4.Buffalo Skinners
  • 5.Hey Lolly Lolly
  • 6.Lonesome Day
  • 7.John Henry
  • 8.Ranger's Command
  • 9.Ain't Gonna Be Treated This Way
  • 10.Poor Boy
  • 11.Hard, Ain't It Hard
  • 12.Worried Man Blues
  • 13.Take A Whiff On Me
  • 14.Skip To My Lou
  • 15.Ezekiel Saw The Wheel
  • 16.Johnny Hard
  • 17.Columbus Stockade
  • 18.Foggy Mountain Top
  • 19.Sourwood Mountain
  • 20.Bad Lee Brown
  • 21.Cumberland Gap
  • 22.Golden Vanity
  • 23.Old Time Religion
  • 24.Bury Me Beneath The Willow

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Kenneth S. Goldstein.
Personnel: Woody Guthrie (vocals, guitar).
Liner Note Author: Kenneth S. Goldstein.
When you hear Woody Guthrie's name, most likely the first image that comes to mind that of the righteous populist, the politically minded troubadour who toured the country with a guitar stenciled "This machine kills fascists" and sang out against injustice and for humanity.
Then there was Woody Guthrie the Oklahoma wildcatter, who spun tales and sang the old songs, and when he was in the company of Cisco Houston, that's the side that shone through. Collecting most of their best recordings, VOLUME ONE AND TWO features such traditional ballads and tunes as "Gypsy Davy," "John Henry," and "Skip to My Lou," sung with riotous good humor and abundant affection for the music's roots, alongside sly originals like "More Pretty Gals Than One." There's not really much difference between the two Woody Guthries after all, but VOLUME ONE AND TWO showcases a side of the singer often overlooked.
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Series:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 51,707
  • UPC: 090431560525
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)