Bob Marley Legend Remixed

Legend Remixed
Get email alerts for Bob Marley
Sale: $14.38
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $13.07 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $2.91 (18% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
sku:  37D4H
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 25, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Island


  • 1.Waiting In Vain (Jim James Remix)
  • 2.Stir It Up (Ziggy Marley Remix)
  • 3.Three Little Birds (Stephen Marley and Jason Bentley Remix)
  • 4.Could You Be Loved (RAC Remix)
  • 5.No Woman, No Cry (Cut Chemist Remix)
  • 6.Get Up, Stand Up (Thievery Corporation Remix)
  • 7.Satisfy My Soul (Beats Antique Remix)
  • 8.I Shot The Sheriff (Roni Size Remix)
  • 9.Exodus (Pretty Lights Remix)
  • 10.Easy Skanking (Stephen Marley Remix)
  • 11.One Love / People Get Ready (Photek Remix)
  • 12.Redemption Song (Ziggy Marley Remix)
  • 13.Is This Love (Jason Bentley Remix)
  • 14.Jamming (Nickodemus and Zeb Remix)
  • 15.Punky Reggae Party (Z-Trip Remix featuring Lee "Scratch" Perry)
  • 16.Buffalo Soldier (Stephen Marley Remix)

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Ziggy Marley.
Photographers: Adrian Boot; Kevin Kerslake; Danny Clinch.
Even though it's a posthumous compilation of hits, Bob Marley's Legend (1984) is the best-selling reggae album of all time, but even more, it's a cherished set of favorites that fans hold quite dear. Keep that in mind, and that Marley's catalog has been shamelessly subjected to cheeseball remixes in the past, and it's easy to see why roots reggae noses wrinkle at the word "Remixed," but in the set's liner notes, Marley son Ziggy keeps it real. "This is an adventure in music," he writes, "a 'soul adventure'" with words like "respect" and "open ears" further supporting his cause, but it's the music that matters here, and the tasteful set of remixers listed on the back should be the first clue that this one is soul-filling and easy skanking. Speaking of, studio wizard and Marley son Stephen bends the rules a bit by grabbing the bonus track "Easy Skanking" off the deluxe edition of Legend, but he turns it into a wonderfully busy dubstep kaleidoscope of dad's feel-good vibes. Stephen's remix of "No Woman No Cry" is chock-full of bass drops as well, but it's the feel-good, sunshine disco he lays on the track that puts hands in the air. Brother Ziggy's the one who surprises with his rich, rootsy, reserve red, and reverbed mixes of "Stir It Up" and "Redemption Song," while others play to their strengths and exceed expectations, like Thievery Corporation ("Get Up Stand Up" wonderfully echoes into space) and Roni Size (his cut sounds like a simple Internet kid's hastily pasted together mash-up of "Brown Paper Bag" and "I Shot the Sheriff," but it's simply delicious). Fans unfamiliar with the electronica and EDM scenes should know this one leans toward the underground rather than the mainstream, with folks like Photek taking it slow and low rather than hard and fast. Those concerned that the Marley legacy is damaged by this stuff should know that Ziggy puts it out there, writing in the liners that "Nothing will ever be better than the originals." Nothing here is, but it's all worthwhile, and some of it is quite wonderful. ~ David Jeffries

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 56,291
  • UPC: 600753430873
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)