Robyn Hitchcock Luminous Groove (5-CD)

Record Collector (magazine): 4 stars out of 5 -- "As always there are whimsical songs, weird songs and sublime songs. Hitchcock also nods to the West Coast rock he often channels..."
Get email alerts for Robyn Hitchcock
10 ratings
Price: $50.50
List Price: $54.99
You Save: $4.49 (8% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  36RRF
Brand New
Related products:
Robyn Hitchcock for $15.40

CD Details

  • Released: August 19, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Yep Roc Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Paste (magazine) (p.66) - "Many of the tracks here have become Hitchcock live staples over the years....[Fans] will find this collection essential..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.89
4 stars out of 5 -- "As always there are whimsical songs, weird songs and sublime songs. Hitchcock also nods to the West Coast rock he often channels..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Egyptian Cream
  • 2.Another Bubble
  • 3.I'm Only You
  • 4.My Wife and My Dead Wife
  • 5.Goodnight I Say
  • 6.The Man With The Lightbulb Head
  • 7.Insect Mother
  • 8.Strawberry Mind
  • 9.Glass
  • 10.The Fly
  • 11.Heaven
  • 12.Heaven End Bit
  • 13.Bells Of Rhymney
  • 14.Some Body
  • 15.Heaven [Live] - (live)
  • 16.The Pit Of Souls
  • 17.The Drowning Church
  • 18.The Man With The Lightbulb Head [Instrumental]
  • 19.Lady Obvious

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sometimes I Wish I Was A Pretty Girl
  • 2.Kingdom Of Love
  • 3.Acid Bird
  • 4.The Cars She Used To Drive
  • 5.My Wife And My Dead Wife
  • 6.Brenda's Iron Sledge
  • 7.The Fly
  • 8.Only The Stones Remain
  • 9.Egyptian Cream
  • 10.Leppo And The Jooves
  • 11.America
  • 12.Heaven
  • 13.Listening To The Higsons
  • 14.The Face Of Death
  • 15.If You Were A Priest
  • 16.I'm Only You
  • 17.Unsettled
  • 18.Freeze
  • 19.Egyptian Cream #2

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.If You Were A Priest
  • 2.Winchester
  • 3.Somewhere Apart
  • 4.Ted, Woody And Junior
  • 5.The President
  • 6.Raymond Chandler Evening
  • 7.Bass
  • 8.Airscape
  • 9.Never Stop Bleeding
  • 10.Lady Waters & The Hooded One
  • 11.The Black Crow Knows
  • 12.The Crawling
  • 13.The Leopard
  • 14.Tell Me About Your Drugs
  • 15.Sprinkling Dots
  • 16.Upside-Down Church Blues
  • 17.Into It
  • 18.Neck
  • 19.Bass [Demo]
  • 20.Lady Waters & The Hooded One [Demo]

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Bad Case Of History
  • 2.In Agony Of Pleasure
  • 3.Poisonous Angel
  • 4.Live Man Die
  • 5.Furry Baby
  • 6.Evil Guy
  • 7.Hanging Out With Dad
  • 8.Wild Mountain Thyme
  • 9.Ivy Alone
  • 10.I Am Not Me
  • 11.Surfer Ghost
  • 12.Beautiful Queen
  • 13.Testosterone Blues
  • 14.Zipper In My Spine
  • 15.Lost Tribes

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Child Of The Universe
  • 2.Freeze
  • 3.Veins Of The Queen
  • 4.The Ruling Class
  • 5.So You Think You're In Love
  • 6.Driving Aloud
  • 7.Wax Doll
  • 8.The Living Years
  • 9.Eight Miles High
  • 10.Chimes Of Freedom
  • 11.Railway Shoes
  • 12.Arms Of Love
  • 13.Moon Inside
  • 14.Globe Of Frogs
  • 15.V & D
  • 16.Wafflehead
  • 17.Wreck Of The Arthur Lee

Product Description:

Personnel: Robyn Hitchcock (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards); Morris Windsor (vocals, guitar, drums); Andy Metcalfe (vocals, piano, organ, keyboards, drums); James A. Smith, Peter Buck , Sean Lyons (guitar); Chris Cox (mandolin, percussion); Roger Jackson (keyboards); John Kingham (drums); Justin Grimaldi (congas).
Audio Mixers: Jessica Corcoran; Pat Collier; Andy Metcalfe; Robyn Hitchcock; Charlie Francis; Roger Jackson.
Audio Remasterers: Donal Whelan; Charlie Francis.
Recording information: 1st Ave, Minneapolis, MN; Alaska And Berry Street Studios; Alaska And The Greenhouse, London, England; Boston Nightstage; Great American, San Francisco, CA; Leeds University; The Garden, London, England; The Greenhouse, London, England; The Hub Ballroom, Seattle, WA; The Ritz, New York, NY; The Town & Country Club; Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England.
Photographers: Rosalind Kunath; Jason Hoffman; Paul Natkin; Morris Windsor; Robyn Hitchcock; Tony Moon.
Arranger: Robyn Hitchcock & the Egyptians.
The 2007 box set I WANNA GO BACKWARDS contained three albums British quirk-rock king Robyn Hitchcock had released as a solo artist, along with a bevy of bonus material. Its 2008 sequel, LUMINOUS GROOVE, focuses on Hitchcock's classic work with his band the Egyptians, encompassing FEGMANIA!, ELEMENT OF LIGHT, and the live album GOTTA LET THIS HEN OUT! (they liked their exclamation points). His interaction with the Egyptians (which comprised most of his old Soft Boys bandmates) resulted in some of his most creative, inspired work. In addition to the prime-era Hitchcock represented by these albums, this set includes two full discs' worth of bonus rarities hailing from the same era as the abovementioned albums, making LUMINOUS GROOVE a Hitchcock collector's dream come true.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 634457261426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.58/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)