Patty Griffin American Kid [Deluxe Edition] (CD + DVD)

American Kid [Deluxe Edition] (CD + DVD)
Get email alerts for Patty Griffin
Price: $22.48
List Price: $24.98
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 5 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  374QJ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: May 7, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: New West Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.82
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's clear her writing remains as surprising as it is masterful."
Paste (magazine) - "AMERICAN creates its lean immediacy by enlisting the North Mississippi Allstars to strip down to their most organic."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Go Wherever You Wanna Go
  • 2.Don't Let Me Die In Florida
  • 3.Ohio
  • 4.Wild Old Dog
  • 5.Mom & Dad s Waltz
  • 6.Faithful Son
  • 7.Highway Song
  • 8.That Kind of Lonely
  • 9.Irish Boy
  • 10.Get Ready Marie
  • 11.Not A Bad Man
  • 12.Gonna Miss You When You re Gone

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.DVD: The Making of American Kid - An Interview With Patty Griffin
  • 2.DVD: High Resolution Audio Mix of Entire Album
  • 3.DVD: Ohio Music Video
  • 4.Wild Old Dog
  • 5.Mom & Dad's Waltz
  • 6.Faithful Son
  • 7.Highway Song
  • 8.That Kind of Lonely
  • 9.Irish Boy
  • 10.Get Ready Marie
  • 11.Not a Bad Man
  • 12.Gonna Miss You When You're Gone
  • 13.Ohio [Music Video]
  • 14.[Bonus Material]

Product Description:

Lyricist: Patty Griffin.
Audio Mixer: Mike Poole.
Recording information: Studio G!; Zebra Ranch.
Photographer: Cambria Harkey.
American Kid is Patty Griffin's first album of primarily original material since 2007's Children Running Through. It's her most stripped-down recording since her debut, Living with Ghosts. Acoustic guitars of all stripes, mandolins, earthy drums, percussion, bass, and occasional piano and organ accompany her instantly recognizable voice. Co-produced by the artist and Craig Ross, she is joined by longtime guitarist Doug Lancio, as well as Cody and Luther Dickinson. Robert Plant appears on three songs, including the single "Ohio." The set was recorded in Memphis and Brooklyn. Griffin wrote most of these songs after learning of her father's impending death. They aren't so much about his actual life, but her making sense of the coming absence of his physical presence in hers, what she knew of him and his times. These songs are mostly acoustic; one can hear traces of early blues, various American folk styles, gospel, and vintage country music in her brand of Americana. There isn't anything extra anywhere in the mix. The space in the high lonesome "Go Wherever You Wanna Go," with Luther's National Steel guitar playing slide in counterpart to Griffin's earthy vocal, is almost spooky. The combined supplication and exhortation in the haunted "Don't Let Me Die in Florida" carries traces of prewar and Memphis blues. The duet between Griffin and Plant on "Ohio," is a shimmering, open-tuned droning float, it's lyric binds spiritual and physical love; it would not have been out of place on a Band of Joy record. The feeling of home and hearth saturates her excellent reading of Lefty Frizzell's "Mom & Dad's Waltz," while the musical sensation -- if not the form -- of the folk-blues courses through the disquieting "Faithful Son," with a haunting backing vocal by Plant. "Irish Boy" evokes an early 20th century parlor song; Griffin's only accompaniment is her piano. "Get Ready Marie" is a barroom waltz, complete with a male backing chorus and made loopy by an off-kilter Hammond B-3. The set closer, "Gonna Miss You When You're Gone," is Griffin speaking directly to her father, addressing the deep mark he made upon her life, even as he's passing through it. It's part Lonnie Johnson and Lil Green swing blues, and part Peggy Lee pop. It's slow burning, tender, and bittersweet, a three a.m. confession in an empty room, sung from one spirit to another. While the theme of mortality runs deep through American Kid, so does the celebration of life. Roughshod and unpredictable songs engage it in the present as well as the past, through courage, fear, love, memory, and the grainy, knotty, often invisible ties that bind. With its immediacy, economy, cagey strength, and vulnerability, Griffin delivers these 12 songs not as gifts or statements, but as her own evidence of what is, what was, and what yet may come. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 607396627929
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)