COVID-19: In accordance with the directives of government and health authorities, we have temporarily suspended operations. Please read our full statement

Victor Feldman The Arrival of Victor Feldman

Get email alerts for Victor Feldman
8 ratings
Price: $11.80
You Save: $0.18 (2% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  35YK2
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 25, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Ojc

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 7/99, p.138
4 stars out of 5 - "...When [Feldman] made this, his jazz chops were in fine fettle, and were mostly expressed through the vibraphone. Highlights include a version of Dizzy Gillespie's Bebop..."


  • 1.Serpent's Tooth
  • 2.Waltz
  • 3.Chasing Shadows
  • 4.Flamingo
  • 5.S'Posin'
  • 6.Bebop
  • 7.Greater Love, (There Is No)
  • 8.Too Blue
  • 9.Minor Lament
  • 10.Satin Doll

Product Description:

Personnel: Victor Feldman (vibraphone); Scott LaFaro (bass); Stan Levey (drums).
Recorded in January 1958.
Victor Feldman had first recorded as a leader when he was 13 and a swing-based drummer. In 1957, he moved from his native London to the United States, and by early 1958 (when he was 23) was in great demand as a pianist and vibraphonist. For his second American release and debut for the Contemporary label, Feldman is completely in the spotlight. Joined by the brilliant bassist Scott La Faro (whose playing is a strong reason to acquire the album) and drummer Stan Levey, Feldman performs a mostly boppish set including "Serpent's Tooth," "There Is No Greater Love," Dizzy Gillespie's "Bebop," a Chopin waltz and three of his diverse originals. An excellent showcase for the still-developing Victor Feldman. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 79,946
  • UPC: 025218626828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To contact customer service, email us at
Closed for COVID-19