Regina Spektor Begin to Hope

Begin to Hope
Get email alerts for Regina Spektor
194 ratings
Sale: $8.08
WINTER SALE: $7.06 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.98
You Save: $1.92 (21% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
sku:  G44Q
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 13, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Sire / London/Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.68
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Spektor shows off her gorgeous, fluttery voice, her burgeoning writer chops and her God-given quirks..."
Rolling Stone - p.104
Ranked #21 in Rolling Stone's "The Top 50 Albums Of 2006" -- "Her vocals are intense..."
Spin - p.88
4 star out of 5 -- "Funnier than Fiona Apple and sexier than Nellie McKay, she gets freakier with her classical training than Alicia Keys."
Q - p.116
3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he 25-year-old remains comically kooky..."
Q - p.116
Ranked #82 in Q Magazine's "100 Greatest Albums of 2006."
Alternative Press - p.224
4 out of 5 -- "BEGIN TO HOPE finds Spektor still enjoying the ride, this time with better production, and flittering along with stream-of-consciousness tunes..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.88
3 stars out of 5 -- "Spektor has finally embraced her pop roots and it's the knowing details that resonate..."


  • 1.Fidelity
  • 2.Better
  • 3.Samson
  • 4.On The Radio
  • 5.Field Below
  • 6.Hotel Song
  • 7.Apres Moi
  • 8.20 Years Of Snow
  • 9.That Time
  • 10.Edit
  • 11.Lady
  • 12.Summer In The City

Product Description:

Personnel: Regina Spektor; Rusty Anderson (guitar); Shawn Pelton (drums); Nick Valensi (guitar).
Audio Mixer: David Kahne.
Recording information: New York Noise Studios, New York, NY; Seesquaredstudio, New York, NY.
Photographer: Adria Petty.
BEGIN TO HOPE finds anti-folk chanteuse Regina Spektor taking a small step away from piano balladry into the brave new world of the pop song. And what pop songs they are. Spektor's voice takes the foreground over sparse arrangements of guitars, strings, some electronic beats, and yes, piano. Her singing, if you can believe it, is even better than it was on SOVIET KITSCH: intimate, playful, and full of jazzy phrasings. She slips effortlessly into falsetto and scat in a manner reminiscent of Joni Mitchell. "Hotel Song" finds Spektor singing whispery and smooth over humming organs and a muted snare drum. In "On the Radio," she sings about hearing G'N'R's "November Rain" while plucked strings and synth arpeggios go noodling on behind her. This is an album full of surprises, not the least of which is how lovely the effect is overall.
Year-End Clearance Sale

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 99,654
  • UPC: 093624411222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)