Blur Modern Life Is Rubbish [Special Edition] (2-CD)

Modern Life Is Rubbish [Special Edition] (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Blur
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $13.30 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $1.69 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  K4FG
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 31, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Virgin Records Us

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.79
4 stars out of 5 -- "'Advert' and 'Pressure on Julian' anticipate the full-throttle indie-rock swerve on the '97 hit BLUR, with more Kinks and David Bowie in the clamor."
Q - 1/94, p.85
Included in Q's list of 'The 50 Best Albums Of 1993' - "...tears into a rough-and-tumble Kinksian landscape with gusto...a watertight package...."
Alternative Press - 11/93, p.64
"...[MODERN LIFE IS RUBBISH] is pleasant, non-threatening, and an awful lot of fun..."
Audio Magazine (2/94, p.82) - "...Blur brings some elan to this rite of passage, with riveting guitar work and more variety than on their 1991 debut, LEISURE...."
NME (Magazine) - 12/25/93, p.66
Ranked #7 in New Musical Express' list of 'The Top 50 LPs Of 1993'
NME (Magazine) - 5/8/93, p.31
(7) - Very Good - "...[MODERN LIFE] looks's a London odyssey crammed full of strange commuters, Peeping Thomases and lost can put those idiot Suede comparisons away now..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.For Tomorrow
  • 2.Advert
  • 3.Colin Zeal
  • 4.Pressure On Julian
  • 5.Star Shaped
  • 6.Blue Jeans
  • 7.Chemical World
  • 8.Intermission
  • 9.Sunday Sunday
  • 10.Oily Water
  • 11.Miss America
  • 12.Villa Rosie
  • 13.Coping
  • 14.Turn It Up
  • 15.Resigned
  • 16.Commercial Break

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Popscene
  • 2.Mace
  • 3.Badgeman Brown
  • 4.I'm Fine
  • 5.Garden Central
  • 6.For Tomorrow (Visit to Primrose Hill Extended Version)
  • 7.Into Another
  • 8.Peach
  • 9.Bone Bag
  • 10.Hanging Over
  • 11.When the Cows Come Home
  • 12.Beachcoma
  • 13.Chemical World (Reworked)
  • 14.Es Schmecht
  • 15.Young and Lovely
  • 16.Maggie May
  • 17.My Ark
  • 18.Daisy Bell (A Bicycle Made for Two)
  • 19.Let's All Go Down the Strand

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Frank Arkwright.
Liner Note Author: Miranda Sawyer.
Photographers: Colin Bell; Trevor Rogers; Paul Spencer.
Following LEISURE, a debut featuring many exquisite moments of melody, Blur began their chameleonic artistic journey with MODERN LIFE IS RUBBISH, a record that eschewed massive sonic edifices and swirling harmonies for more basic guitar rock. However, there was little simple about the foursome's creations, as singer/chief-songwriter Damon Albarn fulfilled the promise he hinted at on the prior album: a Beatle-esque ability to pour an incredible amount of drama and adornment into small spaces and emerge with delectable pop.
Leadoff track "For Tomorrow," with its jangly guitar and "la la la la la" chorus sets the tone of the album as well as an opening song can. Its lyrics dance with a subtle complexity, examining optimism while mired in the repetition of modern life (and its rubbish) as renegade strings pop in at just the right points. It's the surprising little touches that really define the band and make Blur's concoctions soar above the rabble. MODERN LIFE IS RUBBISH is one of those records that improves with each listen, with the quiet brilliance of story-songs like "Colin Zeal," "Chemical World," and "Pop Scene" (a smart addition to the US release). MODERN LIFE IS RUBBISH is a testament to Albarn's maturing songwriting gift and a tightly wrapped pop record simultaneously behind and ahead of its time.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5099964480824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.39/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)