The York Brothers Long Time Gone

Long Time Gone
WINTER SALE: $12.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.64 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
sku:  EV67
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 1, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Ace Records UK


  • 1.Motor City Boogie (Take 1)
  • 2.I'm Going Back To Stay
  • 3.Kill Her With Kindness
  • 4.Long Time Gone
  • 5.Gravy Train
  • 6.Life Can Never Be The Same
  • 7.Let's Not Sleep Again
  • 8.Long Gone
  • 9.You Won My Heart With A Song
  • 10.New Mississippi River Blues
  • 11.If I Knew I'd Never Lose You
  • 12.It Ain't No Good
  • 13.Let's Talk Our Troubles Over
  • 14.Traveling Man
  • 15.You're The One
  • 16.Nothin' But The Blues
  • 17.Road Of Sadness
  • 18.I Don't Want No Part Of You
  • 19.Mountain Rosa Lee
  • 20.They Laid My Darling Away
  • 21.Riding And Singing My Song
  • 22.I Wish I Had Of Known
  • 23.Motor City Boogie
  • 24.Travelling Man

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Dave Sax.
Long Time Gone presents a couple dozen of the sides the York Brothers cut for King in the late '40s and early '50s, almost half of them previously unreleased. While the harmonizing duo had been recording since the late '30s, this period saw them incorporating some blues, boogie, and pop influences into their hillbilly sound, rather in the manner of another brother team on the King roster, the Delmore Brothers. Indeed, the pair sometimes sound like a somewhat more sedate version of the Delmores here with their close harmonies and R&B-influenced shuffle rhythms, though the Delmores were more exciting and original from every angle. It's hardly rockabilly-in-the-making, mind you, as steel guitar parts and fiddles ground it in country, while some accordion's on hand to give it a dated pop influence. Still, this is decent mid-20th century hillbilly that was fairly progressive for its time, its blend of country and R&B elements (as well as some electric guitar picking) faintly foreshadowing the birth of rock & roll. "Kill Her with Kindness" displays a wry humor ("kill her with kindness, don't ever use a gun"), but for the most part this is straightforward rootsy stuff, whether the yearning harmonies of "Long Time Gone" or the bluesy "Motor City Boogie," which is as earthy as the Yorks ever got. ~ Richie Unterberger

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667019422
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)