The Nashville Sound of Success: Country #1's 1958-1962 (2-CD)
by Various Artists

SALE: $5.98
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $11.01 (65% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 7 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  ZTJA 67829
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 25, 2016
  • Originally Released: 2016
  • Label: Jasmine Records UK

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Story of My Life - Marty Robbins
  • 2.Great Balls of Fire - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 3.Ballad of a Teenage Queen - Johnny Cash
  • 4.Oh Lonesome Me - Don Gibson
  • 5.Just Married - Marty Robbins
  • 6.All I Have to Do Is Dream - the Everly Brothers
  • 7.Guess Things Happen That Way - Johnny Cash
  • 8.Alone with You - Faron Young
  • 9.Blue Blue Day - Don Gibson
  • 10.Bird Dog - the Everly Brothers
  • 11.City Lights - Ray Price
  • 12.Billy Bayou - Jim Reeves
  • 13.Don't Take Your Guns to Town - Johnny Cash
  • 14.When It's Springtime in Alaska (It's Forty Below) - Johnny Horton
  • 15.White Lightning - George Jones
  • 16.The Battle of New Orleans - Johnny Horton
  • 17.Waterloo - Stonewall Jackson
  • 18.The Three Bells - the Browns
  • 19.Country Girl - Faron Young
  • 20.The Same Old Me - Ray Price
  • 21.El Paso - Marty Robbins

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.He'll Have to Go - Jim Reeves
  • 2.Please Help Me, I'm Falling - Hank Locklin
  • 3.Alabam - Cowboy Copas
  • 4.Wings of a Dove - Ferlin Husky
  • 5.North to Alaska - Johnny Horton
  • 6.Don't Worry - Marty Robbins
  • 7.Hello Walls - Faron Young
  • 8.Heartbreak U.S.A - Kitty Wells
  • 9.I Fall to Pieces - Patsy Cline
  • 10.Tender Years - George Jones
  • 11.Walk on By - Leroy Van Dyke
  • 12.Big Bad John - Jimmy Dean
  • 13.Misery Loves Company - Porter Wagoner
  • 14.That's My Pa - Sheb Wooley
  • 15.She's Got You - Patsy Cline
  • 16.Charlie's Shoes - Billy Walker
  • 17.She Thinks I Still Care - George Jones
  • 18.Wolverton Mountain - Claude King
  • 19.Devil Woman - Marty Robbins
  • 20.Mama Sang a Song - Bill Anderson
  • 21.I've Been Everywhere - Hank Snow
  • 22.Don't Let Me Cross Over - Carl Butler and Pearl
  • 23.Ruby Ann - Marty Robbins
  • 24.The Ballad of Jed Clampett - Lester Flatt, Earl Scruggs and the Foggy Mountain Boys

Product Description:

EU two CD collection. The five years from the beginning of 1958 to the end of 1962 were crucial to the genesis of country music as it moved away from a traditional hillbilly and western sound to something altogether more cosmopolitan in construction. The arrival of The Nashville Sound - with vocal groups and strings replacing steel guitars and fiddles - brought country music into the mainstream and resulted in an enormous amount of crossover action between the country chart and the Hot 100. The Nashville Sound Of Success charts the progress, and the international acceptance of Country music between '58 and '62 by presenting - in chronological order - every record to make #1 on the Billboard Country chart during that period. Not all of the records were recorded in Nashville, but all of them play a vital part in telling the story of country music's first quantum leap towards becoming the commercial product it is considered to be in the 21st century. These discs are filled with some of the biggest names in country music - including Jim Reeves, Marty Robbins, Faron Young, Don Gibson and many more - singing some of their most beloved classic hits, and all resented in the best possible sound, from the best possible sources. As vintage country compilations go, this one takes a lot of beating. What's not to enjoy about The Nashville Sound Of Success?
Jasmine Records Import CD Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 348
  • UPC: 604988367829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)