by Various Artists

Sale: $14.38
COUNTDOWN TO XMAS: $13.07 Sale ends Dec 20
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $2.91 (18% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  6DFRD
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Released: November 18, 2016
  • Originally Released: 2016
  • Label: Walt Disney Records


  • 1.Tulou Tagaloa - (with Olivia Foa'i)
  • 2.Innocent Warrior, An - (with Vai Mahina / Sulata Foai-Amiatu / Matthew Ineleo)
  • 3.Where You Are - (with Christopher Jackson / Rachel House / Louise Bush / Auli`I Cravalho / Nicole Scherzinger)
  • 4.How Far I'll Go - (with Auli`I Cravalho)
  • 5.We Know The Way - (with Lin-Manuel Miranda / Opetaia Foa'i)
  • 6.How Far I'll Go (Reprise) - (with Auli`I Cravalho)
  • 7.You're Welcome - (with Dwayne Johnson)
  • 8.Shiny - (with Jemaine Clement)
  • 9.Logo Te Pate - (with Talaga Steve Sale / Olivia Foa'i / Opetaia Foa'i)
  • 10.I Am Moana (Song of the Ancestors) - (with Rachel House / Auli`I Cravalho)
  • 11.Know Who You Are - (with Vai Mahina / Olivia Foa'i / Matthew Ineleo / Auli`I Cravalho / Opetaia Foa'i)
  • 12.We Know The Way (Finale) - (with Lin-Manuel Miranda / Opetaia Foa'i)
  • 13.How Far I'll Go [Alessia Cara Version] - (with Alessia Cara)
  • 14.You're Welcome [Jordan Fisher / Lin-Manuel Miranda Version] - (with Jordan Fisher, featuring Lin-Manuel Miranda)
  • 15.Prologue [Score]
  • 16.He Was You [Score]
  • 17.Village Crazy Lady [Score]
  • 18.Cavern [Score]
  • 19.The Ocean Chose You [Score]
  • 20.The Hook [Score]
  • 21.Tala's Deathbed [Score]
  • 22.Battle of Wills [Score]
  • 23.Kakamora [Score]
  • 24.Wayfinding [Score]
  • 25.Climbing [Score]
  • 26.Tamatoa's Lair [Score]
  • 27.Great Escape [Score]
  • 28.If I Were the Ocean [Score]
  • 29.Te Ka Attacks [Score]
  • 30.Maui Leaves [Score]
  • 31.Heartache [Score]
  • 32.Tala Returns [Score]
  • 33.Sails to Te Fiti [Score]
  • 34.Shiny Heart [Score]
  • 35.Te Fiti Restored [Score]
  • 36.Hand of a God [Score]
  • 37.Voyager Tagaloa [Score]
  • 38.Toe Feiloa'i [Score]
  • 39.Navigating Home [Score]
  • 40.The Return to Voyaging [Score]

Product Description:

Personnel: Auli'i Cravalho (vocals).
Moana is the 56th animated feature from Disney, an ocean adventure about a teenaged girl from a tribal community on a mystical island in the South Pacific. Its soundtrack offers both 45 minutes of score and a set of original songs co-written by a trio of musicians with impressive pedigrees. They include frequent Disney collaborator Mark Mancina, who worked with Phil Collins on 1999's Tarzan and 2003's Brother Bear. He's joined by singer/songwriter Opetaia Foa'i, leader of the Polynesian worldbeat group Te Vaka (who can be heard here), and Lin-Manuel Miranda, creator of the Pulitzer-winning Broadway smash Hamilton. The original score is by Mancina, who also penned scores for Disney's Tarzan, Brother Bear, and Planes, among others. Also a veteran of electronics-aided action scores for films like Speed and Con Air, Mancina sticks to an orchestral palette for Moana that highlights brass and group drumming, as on "Prologue" and "Tamatoa's Lair." Mallet percussion, pitched drums, flutes, and choir also distinguish the soundtrack's overall sound. Mancina recorded the vast majority of the score live in the studio with humans and "real" instruments, lending to an authentic feel. The main draw here, though, will be the original songs. Speaking of authenticity, the songs, thankfully, avoid prior Disney faux pas and outright offenses with regard to ethnic stereotyping. They managed this with a conscientious crew and the involvement of Foa'i, a Samoan-born musician with expertise in the region's traditional music. The songs' strong melodies, choral harmonies, and indigenous rhythms may draw certain comparisons to The Lion King, though Moana carves its own path. It does so with an ease that pervades both Foa'i's melodies and Miranda's way with natural-sounding syntax and rhythm. Highlights include "We Know the Way," sung by Miranda and Foa'i, and the soaring "How Far I'll Go," delivered by Auli'i Carvalho in the title role, with a second version by Canadian pop singer Alessia Cara. Among other names appearing on the soundtrack are Dwayne Johnson, who sings "You're Welcome" as Maui, and Jermaine Clement of Flight of the Conchords, who sings "Shiny" as the menacing crab Tamatoa. Closing out the song portion of the album and bringing listeners back to contemporary reality are Jordan Fisher and a rapping Miranda in a reprise of "You're Welcome." ~ Marcy Donelson

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 51,625
  • UPC: 050087349134
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-10pm, Sunday: 11am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)