The Beach Boys Carl and the Passions - So Tough / Holland (2-CD)

Carl and the Passions - So Tough / Holland (2-CD)
Get email alerts for The Beach Boys
67 ratings
Sale: $17.98
WINTER SALE: $16.55 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $3.43 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  34W6J
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 15, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 8/11/00, pp.78-9
"...Their musical growing pains were rewarding....brimming with delights....[These 2 albums] brought in short-lived additions Ricky Fataar and Blondie Chaplin and included 'Sail On Sailor', their last great hit..." - Rating: B/B-

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.You Need a Mess of Help to Stand Alone
  • 2.Here She Comes
  • 3.He Come Down
  • 4.Marcella
  • 5.Hold on Dear Brother
  • 6.Make It Good
  • 7.All This Is That
  • 8.Cuddle Up

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sail On, Sailor
  • 2.Steamboat
  • 3.California Saga / Big Sur
  • 4.California Saga / The Beaks Of Eagles
  • 5.California Saga / California
  • 6.The Trader
  • 7.Leaving This Town
  • 8.Only With You
  • 9.Funky Pretty
  • 10.Mt. Vernon and Fairway - (theme)
  • 11.I'm the Pied Piper - (TRUE instrumental)
  • 12.Better Get Back in Bed
  • 13.Magic Transistor Radio
  • 14.I'm the Pied Piper
  • 15.Radio King Dom

Product Description:

2 LPs on 2 discs: CARL AND THE PASSIONS: SO TOUGH (1972)/HOLLAND (1973).
This reissue of HOLLAND also includes the limited-edition 7" EP MOUNT VERNON AND FARAWAY that was included with the original LP.
The Beach Boys: Dennis Wilson , Al Jardine, Mike Love , Ricky Fataar, Carl Wilson , Blondie Chaplin, Brian Wilson .
Liner Note Authors: Tom Petty; Elton John; Scott McCaughey.
These two albums, criminally underrated in their day (1972-3), make their long-overdue CD debuts in stunningly remastered versions. Even if you think you know this material, you'll still be picking up fresh instrumental and vocal details. Musically, this ranges from the merely charming to the seraphically beautiful, and the amazing thing is that Brian Wilson wrote so little of it and that the individual band members produced. Obviously there was more than enough talent in the band by this time to go around.
High points include "Make it Good" and "Cuddle Up," two stunning orchestral love songs from Dennis Wilson (liner note writer Scott McCaughey accurately compares them to Richard Strauss and Scott Walker); "Marcella," one of the band's all-time best and most infectious rockers; the semi-hit "Sail On Sailor," and Carl Wilson's astonishing "Trader," which begins as a chugging blue-eyed soul number ala "Wild Honey" before switching gears into a haunting piece of minimalism with ravishing group harmonies. As a bonus, this also features the CD debut of Brian's charming little children's fairy tale "Mt. Vernon and Fairway" (originally packaged as a seven-inch bonus EP); it's deliberately slight, but the instrumental snippets that gird it have an undeniable magic.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 32,704
  • UPC: 724352569427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)