The Zombies New World

New World
Get email alerts for The Zombies
SUPER SAVINGS: $15 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $0.99 (6% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  6K2CX
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 28, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Repertoire


  • 1.New World (My America)
  • 2.When Love Breaks Down
  • 3.I Can't Be Wrong
  • 4.Lula Lula
  • 5.Heaven's Gate
  • 6.Time Of The Season
  • 7.Moonday Morning Dance
  • 8.Blue
  • 9.Nights On Fire
  • 10.Losing You
  • 11.Alone In Paradise
  • 12.Knowing You
  • 13.Love Conquers All
  • 14.Hold My Hand Aka Lula Lula
  • 15.When My Boat Comes In

Product Description:

NEW WORLD has also been issued as RETURN OF THE ZOMBIES.
Includes two bonus tracks.
Personnel includes: Chris White, Rod Argent, Paul Atkinson, Colin Blunstone.
Recorded in 1978 & 1990. Includes liner notes by Chris White.
Calling New World (1993) a Zombies effort is as erroneous as portraying No Quarter: Jimmy Page & Robert Plant (2001) as a Led Zeppelin album, as in both cases, principal components are glaringly absent. On this disc, co-founders Rod Argent (vocals/keyboards) and Paul Atkinson (guitar/vocals) are listed not as part of the band, but rather "special guests." Present and accounted for from the initial combo are Chris White (bass/vocals), Colin Blunstone (vocals), and Hugh Grundy (drums). Although White and Blunstone attempt to pick up the slack in the wake of Argent's minimal involvement, their choice of Sebastian Santa Maria (keyboards/guitar/vocals) is a less than suitable substitute for the missing co-founder. Not surprisingly, while both White and Blunstone are excellent songwriters, much of the material lacks the quirky and jazzy influence that Argent infused into the Zombies' 'sound'. That said, the cuts on New World (1991) are not inferior -- either in composition or execution. They simply are not the Zombies. The opener and title track, "New World (My America)" is one of White's better cuts, with a strong backbeat and the typical tension and release that became trademarks of his vintage sound. "You Make Me Feel Good," "I Love You," and "Beechwood Park" -- White's marquee noir-edged pop style conjured up on "Lula Lula" similarly hearkens back to "Let Me Be," with understated and intimate vocals. An alternate version of the former is available as a bonus side, under what is presumably the working name "Hold My Hand." The Blunstone contributions are equally enjoyable, with the ballad "Losing You," and the mid-tempo rocker, "Love Conquers All" his strongest showings. Casual enthusiasts should note the remake of "Time of the Season," which is the only number to feature Argent. The update can barely be measured against the original, and pales in comparison. In 2003, New World debuted on CD with a pair of supplementary sides, the previously mentioned "Hold My Hand," as well as "When My Boat Comes In," another White-penned song. ~ Lindsay Planer

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 4009910515921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)