Alanis Morissette Under Rug Swept

Q: 4 stars out of 5 - "...Some of the most inviting music of her career....a lyrical Trojan Horse to be wheeled into unsuspecting homes for months to come. Devious stuff."
Under Rug Swept
Get email alerts for Alanis Morissette
408 ratings
Price: $35.90
List Price: $64.99
You Save: $29.09 (45% Off)
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Only 5 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  J6WY
Brand New
Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Clearance CDs with the ZHUS prefix may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: February 26, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Maverick

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 3/14/02, pp.69-70
3 out of 5 stars - "...brawny and meticulous....She concocts folk rock dirven by hip-hop beats, ballads that build...and hard rock aswirl with psychedelia....She makes [her voice] quiver delicately with nervousness..."
Spin - 4/02, p.114
7 out of 10 - "...The only thing pop about this record is a return to melodic hooks. It's a breakup record, full of Freud and props for inner peace. She's mellowed, but her thesaurus is still putting out..."
Q - 2/02, p.107
4 stars out of 5 - "...Some of the most inviting music of her career....a lyrical Trojan Horse to be wheeled into unsuspecting homes for months to come. Devious stuff."
Mojo (Publisher) - April 2002, p.100
"...[Morissette's] own production makes much of this...zing along with dirty guitars...or big drum beats...and improbably insinuating choruses..."


  • 1.21 Things I Want In A Lover
  • 2.Narcissus
  • 3.Hands Clean
  • 4.Flinch
  • 5.So Unsexy
  • 6.Precious Illusions
  • 7.That Particular Time
  • 8.A Man
  • 9.You Owe Me Nothing In Return
  • 10.Surrendering
  • 11.Utopia

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Alanis Morissette (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Tim Thorney (guitar, bass); Nick Lashley, Dean Deleo, Joel Shearer (guitar); Mark Stephens (piano, keyboards); Richard Causon (piano); Jamie Muhoberac (keyboards); Eric Avery, Chris Chaney, Flea, Me'Shell NdegeOcello, Chris Bruce (bass); Gary Novak (drums, percussion).
This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
Personnel: Alanis Morissette (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Dean DeLeo, Tim Thorney, Joel Shearer, Nick Lashley (guitar); Richard Causon (piano); Carmen Rizzo (keyboards, programming); Johnny Talbot, Jamie Muhoberac (keyboards); Gary Novak (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixers: Chris Fogel; Rob Jacobs.
Recording information: Battery; Dog House Studios; Great Big Music; Larrabee North; Royaltone Studios; Westlake.
Photographer: Rankin .
In the four years following the release of 1998's SUPPOSED FORMER INFATUATION JUNKIE, Alanis Morissette went far afield from music, dabbling in film (DOGMA), TV (SEX & THE CITY) and stage (THE VAGINA MONOLOGUES). Her return to the studio found the older and wiser former child star hooking up with her old band along with a number of superstar guests. Sharing the same confessional approach towards songwriting as musical brethren Natalie Imbruglia and Fiona Apple, Morissette delves into personal experiences with ex-lovers ("Narcissus" featuring Flea), new ones (the soaring "Surrendering"), and feelings of insecurity ("So Unsexy" featuring Me'shell N'Degeocello).
Stone Temple Pilots guitarist Dean DeLeo and former Jane's Addiction bassist Eric Avery lend their talents to the yearning of "Precious Illusions." Best of all is the uplifting closer "Utopia," an anthem of hope that combines the spiritually focused Canadian's ethereal vocal phrasing with lush string arrangements and trilling acoustic guitar. Despite being weighted in a good deal of introspection, Morissette's third outing finds her deftly avoiding any hint of pretentiousness or self-absorption.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,741
  • UPC: 093624798828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)