Nick Jonah Davis Of Time And Tides

Of Time And Tides
SALE: $8.40
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $7.58 (47% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  Vinyl LP
item number:  TSQ 25471
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Released: March 14, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Tompkins Square


  • 1.Twiga
  • 2.Wooden Winds
  • 3.The Narrow Bridge
  • 4.of Time and Tides
  • 5.Cold Wind In The Long Mynd
  • 6.Bine Stones Close
  • 7.Nocturne
  • 8.Mari Christina
  • 9.Death and The Monkey
  • 10.A Broken Circle
  • 11.Fred and Evelyn

Product Description:

For his second full-album release, Nick Jonah Davis aims for an understated, reflective set of performances, acoustic guitar as slightly mysterious mood-setter. But it's no sterile mood piece; throughout, whether it's in his occasional count-offs or in the close-to-the-mike feel of the recording, it's an album that feels in the moment, a private session one has eavesdropped on. There's an air of the rough and immediate from the start on "Twiga," where notes suddenly burst out from the main melody, and a midsong break into a sudden stop-start section feels like a series of hushed pauses. Much of Of Time and Tides eschews anything quite so melodramatic; Davis aims to make a mark, just in a gentler way. Song titles like "Nine Stones Close" help convey the sense of rural location captured at many points, but it's the feeling of the music that remains key, as can also be heard on the sweet ramble of "Mari Christina." At the album's most bucolic, a song like "The Narrow Bridge" feels like the ultimate country summer afternoon that should be, sun over water and a peacefulness in the performance. Meanwhile, leading off "Nocturne" with a piano some time before guitar appears results in an unexpected, quietly moving synthesis, a late-night moodiness in more ways than one, something that the almost chilling feedback textures underneath "A Broken Circle" play up even more strongly. ~ Ned Raggett
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Groupings:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 39,783
  • UPC: 894807002547
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)