Alfred Hitchcock - Hitchcock Becomes "Hitchcock": The British Years

SUPER SAVINGS: $15.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $25
You Save: $9.02 (36% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Paperback Book
item number:  BK 1310
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

Paperback Book Details

  • 228 Pages
  • Paperback
  • Illustrated in B&W
  • Released: January 9, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Publisher: Midnight Marquee Press



Entertainment Reviews:

Description by

Alfred Hitchcock's comments in his frequent interviews have encouraged many critics to assume that the director's true career began in 1934 with The Man Who Knew Too Much, the first in a long, almost unbroken string of thrillers. Then, having defined Hitchcock as a specialist, these critics select from his earlier work only those films that anticipate his later career: The Lodger (1927), Blackmail (1929), Murder! (1930), and Number Seventeen (1932). Such a perspective, mired in the confidence of hindsight, results in a highly misleading view of the director, one that dismisses his 12 other early features - eight silent and four sound - and implies that he was merely marking time until his "true" creative personality emerged. Hitchcock was, in fact, a major director from the very start of his career in 1925 and for 10 years he made substantial, mature features that reveal an impressive consistency in content and form. This book examines those all important films.
Midnight Marquee Press & Luminary Press

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 32,951
  • ISBN: 1887664882
  • EAN: 9781887664882
  • Shipping Weight: 6.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)