Rufus Thomas Walking The Dog

Get email alerts for Rufus Thomas
4 ratings
Price: $6.80
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $1.18 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  35KWX
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 28, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

A budget-priced, 10-track collection of favorites from Rufus Thomas.


  • 1.Walking The Dog
  • 2.Jump Back
  • 3.Boom Boom
  • 4.Little Sally Walker
  • 5.The Dog
  • 6.Sophisticated Sissy
  • 7.Can Your Monkey Do The Dog
  • 8.Sister's Got A Boyfriend
  • 9.Land Of 1000 Dances
  • 10.Mashed Potatoes

Product Description:

Digitally remastered from the original mono master tapes.
One of the most entertaining figures in 1960s R&B, Rufus Thomas started his professional career in the 1930s as a performer on the vaudeville circuit, later becoming a DJ. Though his signature hit, 1963's "Walking the Dog," didn't come until he was 46 years old, he wasted no time in capitalizing on it, as this best-of demonstrates--later singles like "The Dog" and "Can Your Monkey Do the Dog" are among the infectious R&B novelty hits featured here. There's also a creditable version of John Lee Hooker's "Boom Boom" and Wilson Pickett's "Land of 1000 Dances," all backed up by the instantly recognizable Memphis R&B of the Stax house band.
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,885
  • UPC: 090431997628
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)