Get email alerts for Tony Bennett
5 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 9870
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

A budget-priced 10-track collection of Tony Bennett's greatest hits.


  • 1.The Second Time Around
  • 2.I Wanna Be Around
  • 3.I Left My Heart In San Francisco
  • 4.For Once In My Life
  • 5.(Where Do I Begin) Love Story
  • 6.Because Of You
  • 7.Just One Of Those Things
  • 8.Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me)
  • 9.It Had To Be You
  • 10.Shadow Of Your Smile

Product Description:

CBS Special Products first assembled this ten-track budget compilation of Tony Bennett's Columbia Records recordings spanning 1951-1971 in 1982, and it has been reissued periodically since, first by Sony Music Special Products (after Sony bought and renamed CBS Records) and then under license to Collectables Records for its Priceless Collection series. The reason for this continuing availability is simple: The album is an excellent brief sampler of Bennett's work. It includes his first hit, "Because of You," his signature song, "I Left My Heart in San Francisco," four other Top Ten easy listening hits from the 1960s ("I Wanna Be Around," "For Once in My Life," "Who Can I Turn To [When Nobody Needs Me]," and "The Shadow of Your Smile"), and four representative tracks from notable Bennett albums ("It Had to Be You" from 1957's Tony, "Just One of Those Things" from 1957's The Beat of My Heart, "The Second Time Around" from 1966's The Movie Song Album, and "[Where Do I Begin] Love Story" from 1971's Love Story). All told, that's less than half an hour of music, and any Tony Bennett fan could name many songs that have been left out. But as a low-priced survey of Bennett's career highlights aimed at the casual listener, the collection hits the mark. [The Collectables reissue even adds liner notes by Al Fichera that discuss the origins of the tracks, a rarity in albums at this price point.] ~ William Ruhlmann
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 34,440
  • UPC: 090431987025
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)