Richard Thompson RT: The Life and Music of Richard Thompson [Box Set] (5-CD)

RT: The Life and Music of Richard Thompson [Box
Get email alerts for Richard Thompson
25 ratings
Price: $71.98
List Price: $79.98
You Save: $8 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  J76Q
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: February 7, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Free Reed Us Release

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.70
4.5 stars out of 5 -- "Thompson's guitar firepower and parched wit are everywhere here....Loving archaeology, in every detail."
Entertainment Weekly - p.137
"[H]e has inhabited a dizzying number of personas...visionary hurdy-gurdy man, molten-hot electric-guitar hero, restless musical explorer, spiritual searcher, comedian." -- Grade: A
Uncut - p.116
3 stars out of 5 -- "Thompson is an exceptional guitar player, a fine songwriter, and a decent singer. Listening to RT's five discs, you get the sense that the guitar is his true voice."
Dirty Linen - p.53
"[Thompson is] a thoughtful man with rare insights into the human condition who, as it happens, is a pretty fair musician and songwriter, too."
Global Rhythm (Publication) (p.45) - "The set makes a good case that he is the best guitar player in the world....but it makes an even better case for his songwriting."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.116
5 stars out of 5 -- "[A] true bonanza....Wit, pathos, humility and chops enough to sway Jimmy Page. Thompson had -- and still has -- it all."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Now That I Am Dead
  • 2.Genesis Hall
  • 3.Josef Locke
  • 4.Willy O' Winsbury
  • 5.Don't Sit on My Jimmy Shands
  • 6.Nobody's Wedding
  • 7.Madonna's Wedding
  • 8.Walking the Long Miles Home
  • 9.Withered and Died
  • 10.Beat the Retreat
  • 11.The Great Valerio
  • 12.Walking on a Wire
  • 13.Never Again
  • 14.The End of the Rainbow
  • 15.King of Bohemia
  • 16.Killerman Gold Posse
  • 17.Lotteryland
  • 18.Now Be Thankful
  • 19.Shoot Out the Lights
  • 20.Outside of the Inside

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I Feel So Good
  • 2.Push and Shove
  • 3.Time to Ring Some Changes
  • 4.Cooksferry Queen
  • 5.Waltzing's For Dreamers
  • 6.I Want to See the Bright Lights Tonight
  • 7.I Misunderstood
  • 8.Meet on the Ledge
  • 9.Down Where the Drunkards Roll
  • 10.Gethsemane
  • 11.Tear-Stained Letter
  • 12.Wall of Death
  • 13.1952 Vincent Black Lightning
  • 14.From Galway to Graceland
  • 15.Crazy Man Michael
  • 16.Dimming of the Day
  • 17.Beeswings

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Valerie
  • 2.Don't Let a Thief Steal Into Your Heart
  • 3.Tghosts in the Wind
  • 4.Crash the Party
  • 5.For Shame of Doing Wrong
  • 6.Clavary Cross
  • 7.Sloth
  • 8.Night Comes In
  • 9.Drowned Dog, Black Night
  • 10.Put It There Pal
  • 11.Morris Medley / Flying Saucers

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Substitute
  • 2.Tempted
  • 3.Hamlet, (The Story of)
  • 4.Oops, I Did It Again
  • 5.Ca Plane pour Moi
  • 6.Why Don't Women Like Me?
  • 7.Time Has Told Me
  • 8.Shenandoah
  • 9.Danny Boy
  • 10.Move It
  • 11.Willie & The Hand Jive / Not Fade Away
  • 12.Loch Lomond
  • 13.Job of Journeywork
  • 14.Napoleaon's Dream
  • 15.Sally Rackett
  • 16.God Loves a Drunk
  • 17.The Angels Took My Racehorse Away
  • 18.Poseidon
  • 19.Wall of Death
  • 20.You'll Never Walk Alone
  • 21.I Ain't Marching Anymore
  • 22.The Who Medley: My Generation / Can't Explain / Substitute

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Albion Sunrise
  • 2.How Many Times Do You Have to Fall
  • 3.Bad News Is All the Wind Can Carry
  • 4.Mrs Rita
  • 5.Shady Lies
  • 6.Lucky in Life, Unlucky in Love
  • 7.Dragging the River
  • 8.Alexander Graham Bell
  • 9.Someone Else's Fancy
  • 10.Modem Woman
  • 11.Woman or a Man
  • 12.My Daddy Is a Mummy
  • 13.You Got What You Wanted
  • 14.In Over Your Head
  • 15.Dear Janet Jackson

Product Description:

Personnel: Richard Thompson.
The British folk label Free Reed are doing fans of British folk-rock a nice service by issuing box sets of the genre's most important artists, and they've done a doozy with THE LIFE AND MUSIC OF RICHARD THOMPSON. With five CDs full of rare and largely unreleased material and a beautiful 168-page booklet full of photographs, interviews, biographical information, and exhaustive notes, this collection is a monster, and a must for any devoted fan of this seminal singer-songwriter.
The CDs are organized by theme, and include autobiographical songs, live performances, cover versions of songs by other artists, and demos and outtakes. That Thompson is a uniquely skilled guitarist and a songwriter of remarkable sensitivity and craftsmanship is well known, and those qualities are presented in a new light on this mammoth set. Still, beginners will want to pick up Thompson's Fairport albums and his first few records with then wife Linda before diving into LIFE & MUSIC; rabid Thompson collectors, however, will be surprised and delighted by the wealth of excellent unreleased material included here.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 020286201427
  • Shipping Weight: 2.62/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)