Koerner, Ray & Glover Lots More Blues, Rags & Hollers

Lots More Blues, Rags & Hollers
Get email alerts for Koerner, Ray & Glover
5 ratings
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
sku:  VRCG
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: January 19, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Red House

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 4/1/99, p.103
4 Stars (out of 5) - "...In this age of Van Halenesque acoustic guitar, nobody has topped them for feel or drive or humor or sheer affection for their folk blues forebears like Leadbelly and Memphis Minnie..."
Dirty Linen - 6-7/99, p.53
"...this album [has been] influencing musicians and introducing folks to the rich legacy of traditional American folk-blues music....Their approach [to music] was based on the sheer joy of playing the blues, which has always come through in their performances..."


  • 1.Black Dog
  • 2.Whomp Bom
  • 3.Black Betty
  • 4.Honey Bee
  • 5.Crazy Fool
  • 6.Keep Your Hands Off Her
  • 7.Duncan and Brady
  • 8.Fine Soft Land
  • 9.Red Cross Store
  • 10.Lady Day
  • 11.Freeze to Me, Mama
  • 12.Ted Mack Rag
  • 13.Fannin Street
  • 14.Love Bug
  • 15.Can't Get My Rest at Night
  • 16.What's the Matter With the Mill
  • 17.Fixin' to Die
  • 18.My Little Woman
  • 19.Leavin' Here Blues
  • 20.Southbound Train
  • 21.Slappin' on My Black Cat Bone

Product Description:

Koerner, Ray & Glover: "Spider" John Koerner (vocals, 7-string acoustic guitar, harmonica, kazoo); Dave "Snaker" Ray (vocals, 12-string acoustic & bottle-neck guitars); Tony "Little Sun" Glover (vocals, harmonica, electric harmonica).
Producers: Jac Holzman, Paul Rothchild.
Reissue producer: Eric Peltoniemi.
Recorded at Mastertone Studios, New York, New York in September, 1963. Includes liner notes by Paul Nelson and Tony Glover.
Digitally remastered by Chris Frymire, Dave Ray and Tony Glover (Modern Minstrel Mixing, Minneapolis, Minnesota).
Personnel: "Spider" John Koerner (vocals, guitar, harmonica, kazoo); Dave "Snaker" Ray (guitar); Tony Glover (harmonica).
Audio Remixers: Chris Frymire; Dave Ray; Tony Glover.
Liner Note Author: Paul Nelson.
Recording information: Mastertone Studios, New York, NY (09/1963-04/1964).
John Koerner, Dave Ray and Tony Glover, who emerged from the same University of Minneapolis music scene that produced Bob Dylan, were the best white folk blues group of their day. This reissue of one of their influential mid '60s albums -- which sounds at times like a cross between the Kingston Trio and Sonny Boy Williamson -- provides ample evidence of that. Koerner and Ray were first-rate guitarists, Glover could play harmonica like nobody's business and they all sang with style, enthusiasm, and a dash of humor. Plus, they had great material, some from blues giants like Lead Belly and Memphis Minnie, but much of it original. Three cheers to the folks who put together this reissue so well. The 21 remastered tracks include all of the original album, plus five songs from the same sessions that got bumped from the LP due to the format's space limitations. The liner notes feature all the original commentary from critic Paul Nelson and an extensive new essay by Tony Glover. ~ Jeff Burger

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 033651013020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)