The Zombies Live on the BBC

Live on the BBC
Get email alerts for The Zombies
Price: $14.50
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $0.49 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  VS7D
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 10, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Repertoire


  • 1.Road Runner
  • 2.You Make Me Feel Good
  • 3.Early in the Morning
  • 4.She's Not Here
  • 5.Tell Her No
  • 6.What More Can I Do
  • 7.I'm Going Home
  • 8.For You My Love
  • 9.Tell Her No
  • 10.Soulville
  • 11.Rip It Up
  • 12.Can't Nobody Love You
  • 13.You Must Believe Me
  • 14.She's Coming Home
  • 15.I Must Move
  • 16.Just Out of Reach
  • 17.If It Don't Work Out
  • 18.Whenever You're Ready
  • 19.It's Alright
  • 20.Will You Love Me Tomorrow
  • 21.When the Lovelight Starts
  • 22.Just Alittle Bit
  • 23.Sitting in the Dark
  • 24.Gotta Get a Hold of Myself
  • 25.Goin' Out of My Head
  • 26.This Old Heart of Mine
  • 27.Friends of Mine
  • 28.Look of Love
  • 29.Kenny Everett Show Jingle-Medley

Product Description:

CD contains 7 bonus tracks.
Like a majority of up-and-coming British bands of the 1960s, the Zombies made nearly two dozen BBC Light and Radio 1 transmissions between the fall of 1964 and the spring of 1968. The 29 cuts hail from a variety of those programs. In many cases their alternate persona as a consummate and immensely soulful cover combo is likewise illuminated. The parenthetical "bonus tracks" moniker may be seen as somewhat of a misnomer, since this volume is in essence the fourth ("Live on the BBC") volume of the remarkably thorough and highly recommended Zombie Heaven (1997) four-CD compilation. The contents are presented in a relatively chronological manner, commencing with one of the group's earliest shots (if not the earliest shot) on Saturday Club, broadcast on October 3, 1964. The obligatory plug of their own "She's Not There" and "You Make Me Feel Good," coupled with a fiery take of Bo Diddley's "Road Runner" and Little Richard's "Early One Morning," most reveal the quintet's passion. That becomes a prominent motif throughout, resulting in some of the Zombies' best and most spirited performances during their all too brief history. Other practically compulsory listens include their rendering of "I'm Going Home," Henry Glover's "Soulsville," and an additional Little Richard number, "Rip It Up," which is reworked into a masterful fusion of pop and rock guilded with hints of jazz. Billy Stewart's "Sitting in the Park" and the gorgeous rendering of Bacharach and David's "The Look of Love" are among the other zeniths. The latter boasts what may be Colin Blunstone's finest vocal with this aggregate. The mind boggles that it was not crafted into some kind of official studio release. In terms of originals, there are two inspired takes of "Tell Her No" -- one highlighted by Rod Argent on acoustic piano -- as well as an absolutely riveting and blistering reading of "What More Can I Do" from a late January 1965 Saturday Club session. The "Kenny Everett Show Jingle-Medley " is taken from a pair of appearances by Argent and Chris White from April of 1968. Sadly, this is the only material circa Odessey & Oracle (1968), as they had already broken up by the time the album was issued. Live at the BBC is essential for enthusiasts and the curious. Those not in need of the massive aforementioned Zombie Heaven can easily couple this title with any number of the single or double-disc anthologies to achieve a copious collection of the Zombies' pre-Odessey & Oracle output. ~ Lindsay Planer

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 4009910479025
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)