Lloyd Cole etc.

Get email alerts for Lloyd Cole
6 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  VSHA
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 16, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: One Little Indian Us


  • 1.Backwoods
  • 2.Old Enough to Know Better
  • 3.Another Lover
  • 4.39 Down
  • 5.Sunburst
  • 6.Memphis
  • 7.You're a Big Girl Now
  • 8.Alright People
  • 9.Santa Cruz
  • 10.Love Like This Can't Last
  • 11.Went to Woodstock
  • 12.Fool You Are (Demo)
  • 13.Weakness
  • 14.Backwoods (Reprise)

Product Description:

Personnel: Lloyd Cole (acoustic guitar, percussion); Lloyd Cole (various instruments); Matt Johnson , Matt Johnson (vocals); Rafa Maciejak, Rafa Maciejak (drums); Amanda Kramer (vocals, keyboards); Robert Quine (electric guitar); Neil Clark (lap steel guitar); Chris "Poet" Wilson (bass guitar).
Audio Mixers: Lloyd Cole; Mick Glossop.
Photographers: Lloyd Cole; Russell Young.
A self-proclaimed lost album, Lloyd Cole's Etc. is a gentle, charming, and mature collection of demos, covers, and original songs recorded between Love Story and The Negatives. It just might be Cole's most accessible album. Relying heavily on Cole's folksy, country acoustic guitar strumming, Neil Clark's plaintive lap steel guitar work, and Cole's perfectly subtle and introspective vocals, Etc. is remarkably cohesive for a release that just narrowly escaped never seeing the light of day. Much of the album takes on a similar haunted air to that of the Lilac Time's stellar Looking for a Day in the Night. Though the album comes across as sort of a melancholic, pastoral adult lullaby, Cole fills the cracks and crevices with his pensive delivery of lyrics that are far more optimistic than those on his earlier, more sarcastic albums. If he's slightly more upbeat, Cole still hasn't lost his singular abilities to turn a phrase or whip up memorable hooks at will. Any number of these 14 songs would seem perfectly at home on an updated greatest-hits collection. "Old Enough to Know Better" is most likely a bit of self-therapy; it's closing refrain of "there's no release in this life" is powerful and heartbreaking. The slow-burning "Memphis," a cover of Karen Black's self-penned song from Robert Altman's Nashville, reimagines Cole as a country-pop balladeer. The cover of Bob Dylan's "You're a Big Girl Now" is equally touching. "Alright People" suggests a less wacky Robyn Hitchcock jamming with jangle-meister Johnny Marr, while "Weakness" courts despair with equal amounts of British psychedelia and romantic charm. The demo of "Fool You Are" is nearly too pretty for words. Etc. is an excellent and thoroughly accomplished addition to Lloyd Cole's discography. It's an essential album for Cole's fans and for everyone who appreciates a bit of pop charm in their folk songs. ~ Tim DiGravina

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 827954041428
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)