Tim Buckley Dream Letter: Live in London 1968 (2-CD)

Dream Letter: Live in London 1968 (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Tim Buckley
31 ratings
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  VV6S
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 2, 2007
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Manifesto Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone
"...more than a wonderful archival discovery. It is essential listening."
5 Stars - Indispensable - Included in Q's list of the Fifty Best Albums of 1990 - "...reveals an artist who could mesmerise an audience with just his voice, guitar and occasional hints of bass and vibraphone....The quality of his songwriting and the haunted wailing of his voice make this an album to treasure."
Stereo Review (12/90) - Performance "Stunning" / Recording "Excellent" - "...captures Buckley's elusive, visionary magic. His boundary-defying style was so unconventional that the public never really caught up with him....Hearing a voice so pure, honest, and true to its music is a delightful, singular experience."
Stereophile (9/90) - "I floated along for two hours on Buckley's unique way with a song, his incantatory voice, the astounding confidence of this 21- year-old so musically wise beyond his years....Not only essential for Tim Buckley fans everywhere, but a perfect introduction to the man's music....Highly recommended."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Introduction
  • 2.Buzzin' Fly
  • 3.Phantasmagoria in Two
  • 4.Morning Glory
  • 5.Dolphins
  • 6.I've Been Out Walking
  • 7.The Earth Is Broken
  • 8.Who Do You Love
  • 9.Pleasant Street / You Keep Me Hanging On

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Love From Room 109 / Strange Feelin'
  • 2.Carnival Song / Hi Lilly, Hi Lo
  • 3.Hallucinations
  • 4.Troubador
  • 5.Dream Letter / Happy Time
  • 6.Wayfaring Stranger / You Got Me Runnin'
  • 7.Once I Was

Product Description:

Personnel: Tim Buckley (vocals, 12-string acoustic guitar); Lee Underwood (guitar); David Friedman (vibraphone); Danny Thompson (bass).
Recorded live at Queen Elizabeth Hall, London, England on July 10, 1968. Includes liner notes by Lee Underwood.
Buckley's London debut was recorded shortly after the release of the pivotal HAPPY SAD, on which he had broken away from folk music and embraced a more expressive, jazz-based style. The respectful audience at the Queen Elizabeth Hall reserve their warmest applause for standard singer-songwriter fare like "Morning Glory" and "Once I Was," but Buckley himself seems more at ease on lengthier vocal workouts such as "Love From Room 109/Strange Feeling" and "Carnival Song/Hi Lily, Hi Lo," enjoying the new-found freedom of expression afforded his remarkable multi-octave voice. The musical accompaniment is superb, Buckley's 12-string backed by guitar, vibes and bass. The only mystery is why this recording did not gain an official release until 1990.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 129,476
  • UPC: 767004070322
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)