The Golden Age of American Sweet Bands: Happy Days (4-CD)
by Various Artists

Get email alerts for Happy Days
4 ratings
SALE: $21.98
List Price: $29.99
You Save: $8.01 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
item number:  ZJAS 3
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: October 22, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Jasmine Music

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Let's Dance At The Make-Believe Ballroom - Charlie Barnet
  • 2.Happy Days Are Here Again - Ben Selvin
  • 3.Puttin' On The Ritz - Leo Reisman
  • 4.Bye Bye Blues - Bert Lown
  • 5.Lonesome Lover - Isham Jones
  • 6.All I Want Is Just One Girl - Gus Arnheim
  • 7.Little White Lies - Fred Waring
  • 8.Aristocratic Stomp - Paul Tremaine
  • 9.June Kisses - Henry Thies
  • 10.What Is This Thing Called Love? - Leo Reisman
  • 11.You're My Everything - Anson Weeks
  • 12.Heartaches - Bert Lown
  • 13.Ho Hum! - Gus Arnheim
  • 14.I Keep Remembering - Isham Jones
  • 15.My Love - Dick Himber
  • 16.Happy-Go-Lucky You - Buddy Rogers
  • 17.Yours - Xavier Cugat
  • 18.Say It Isn't So - Anson Weeks
  • 19.Honeymoon Hotel - Rudy Vallee
  • 20.Black-Eyed Susan Brown - Phil Harris
  • 21.Beautiful Girl - Freddie Martin
  • 22.Sittin' On A Backyard Fence - Leon Belasco
  • 23.The Gold Diggers' Song - Leo Reisman
  • 24.My Dancing Lady - Rudy Vallee
  • 25.Keep Young And Beautiful - Abe Lyman

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Young And Healthy - Fred Waring
  • 2.You've Got Me Crying Again - Isham Jones
  • 3.It Isn't Fair - Dick Himber
  • 4.Give Me Liberty Or Give Me Love - Anson Weeks
  • 5.Easter Parade - Leo Reisman
  • 6.I Saw Stars - Joe Reichman
  • 7.Fair And Warmer - Ted Fio Rito
  • 8.You Oughtta Be In Pictures - Rudy Vallee
  • 9.Cocktails For Two - Nye Mayhew
  • 10.Easy Come, Easy Go - Johnny Green
  • 11.Let's Fall In Love - Gus Arnheim
  • 12.The Object Of My Affection - Jimmie Grier
  • 13.For All We Know - Isham Jones
  • 14.I'll String Along With You - Ted Fio Rito
  • 15.Stars Fell On Alabama - Freddie Martin
  • 16.Blue Moon - Casa Loma Orchestra
  • 17.You And The Night And The Music - Enric Madriguera
  • 18.Did You Ever See A Dream Walking? - Gene Kardos
  • 19.On The Good Ship Lollipop - Rudy Vallee
  • 20.I Won't Dance - Eddy Duchin
  • 21.I Wish I Were Aladdin - Will Osborne
  • 22.Isn't This A Lovely Day? - Archie Bleyer
  • 23.In The Dark - Freddie Martin
  • 24.Top Hat, White Tie And Tails - Ray Noble
  • 25.You Are My Lucky Star - Eddy Duchin

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Just One Of Those Things - Richard Himber
  • 2.I'd Rather Listen To Your Eyes - Phil Harris
  • 3.Lullaby Of Broadway - Little Jack Little
  • 4.Now You've Got Me Doing It - Freddie Martin
  • 5.I've Got A Feelin' You're Foolin' - Eddy Duchin
  • 6.Take My Heart - Nat Brandwynne
  • 7.The Glory Of Love - Rudy Vallee
  • 8.Me And The Moon - Joe Reichman
  • 9.When Did You Leave Heaven? - Charlie Barnet
  • 10.I'll Sing You A Thousand Songs - Russ Morgan
  • 11.In The Chapel In The Moonlight - Richard Himber
  • 12.Us On A Bus - Shep Fields
  • 13.Rainbow On The River - Ted Weems
  • 14.I've Got My Fingers Crossed - Lud Gluskin
  • 15.Bye Bye, Baby - Nat Brandwynne
  • 16.You Can't Stop Me From Dreaming - Guy Lombardo
  • 17.The Folks Who Live On The Hill - Ozzie Nelson
  • 18.Wake Up And Live - Leon Belasco
  • 19.You're A Sweetheart - Dolly Dawn
  • 20.This Year's Kisses - Hal Kemp
  • 21.Let's Call The Whole Thing Off - Eddy Duchin
  • 22.Little Old Lady - Glen Gray
  • 23.True Confession - Larry Clinton
  • 24.To You, Sweetheart, Aloha - Guy Lombardo
  • 25.Toodle-Oo - Russ Morgan

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Rosalie - Leo Reisman
  • 2.Head Over Heals - Lud Gluskin
  • 3.Slumming On Park Avenue - Ray Noble
  • 4.Boo-Hoo - Guy Lombardo
  • 5.On A Little Dream Ranch - Russ Morgan
  • 6.Change Partners - Larry Clinton
  • 7.Don't Let That Moon Get Away - Dick Jurgens
  • 8.I've Got A Pocket Full Of Dreams - Hal Kemp
  • 9.I'll Be Seeing You - Mitchell Ayres
  • 10.Music, Maestro, Please - Kay Kyser
  • 11.My Heart Is Taking Lessons - Dick Stabile
  • 12.Says My Heart - Ozzie Nelson
  • 13.You Must Have Been A Beautiful Baby - Russ Morgan
  • 14.Love Is Here To Stay - Larry Clinton
  • 15.This Can't Be Love - Horace Heidt
  • 16.The Umbrella Man - Sammy Kaye
  • 17.Goodnight, Angel - Hal Kemp
  • 18.Jeepers Creepers - Larry Clinton
  • 19.Here Comes The Night - Ray Herbeck
  • 20.Scatterbrain - Frankie Masters
  • 21.Sunrise Serenade - Glen Gray
  • 22.Wishing (Will Make It So) - Orrin Tucker
  • 23.We Three (My Echo, My Shadow And Me) - Bob Chester
  • 24.Taking A Chance On Love - Sammy Kaye
  • 25.You Say The Sweetest Things, Baby - Dick Jurgens
  • 26.Au Revoir, Pleasant Dreams - Ben Bernie

Product Description:

Full title: The Golden Age Of American Sweet Bands: Happy Days Are Here Again - 101 Original Memories.
Includes 101 tracks from the "sweet bands" of the 1930s, the forerunners of the swing bands of the 1940s.
Performers include: Gus Arnheim, Mitchell Ayers, Charlie Barnet, Xavier Cugat, Casa Loma Orchestra, Larry Clinton, Isham Jones, Kay Kyser, Guy Lombardo, Ozzie Nelson, Fred Waring, Ted Weems, Abe Lyman, Dolly Dawn.
Personnel: Chick Bullock, Clifton Webb, Elmo Tanner, Dick Todd, Dinah Shore, Dolly Dawn, Mary Ann Mercer, Judy Starr, Stewart Sisters, Elmer Feldkamp, Loyce Whiteman, Frank Sylvano, Ford Leary, Fred Astaire, Fred MacMurray, Pete Fylling, Jerry Cooper, Ginny Simms, Mert Curtis, Art Wilson, Dolores O'neill, Bernie Parks, Harriet Hilliard, Muzzy Marcellino, Lee Sullivan , Lawrence Cotton, The Biltmore Trio, Lew Conrad, Lebert Lombardo, Jane Froman, Joe Hostetter, Joe Martin , Kenny Sargent, Al Bowlly, The Freshmen , Lee Wiley, Lew Sherwood, Alice Faye, Mary Jane Walsh, Ozzie Nelson, Paula Kelly , Perry Como, Pinky Tomlin, Rudy Vall‚e, Stuart Allen, Terry Shand, The Andrews Sisters, The Merry Macs, Tom Waring, Bea Wain, Ben Bernie, Bing Crosby, Buddy Moreno, Hoagy Carmichael (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Geoff Milne .
Jasmine's The Golden Age of American Sweet Bands: Happy Days collects 101 songs made popular between 1929 and 1940. Among the highlights of these pre-swing tracks are "Happy Days Are Here Again" by Ben Selvin, "You Oughta Be in Pictures" by Rudy Vall‚e, "Let's Call the Whole Thing Off" by Eddy Duchin, "You Must Have Been a Beautiful Baby" by Russ Morgan, "Taking a Chance on Love" by Sammy Kaye, "Boo-Hoo" by Guy Lombardo, and "The Folks Who Live on the Hill" by Ozzie Nelson. This is a worthy collection for fans of that era's top hits. ~ Al Campbell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Golden Age of American Sweet Bands Music Lover: from WARRAGUL, Victoria AU -- November, 5, 2009

What a great selection of great bands you rarely hear of today. Being in Australia,a few of the bands on this 4 cd set were unknown here,but they all showed why they are included in this list. I recommend it to sweet band fans (like me) as a must have for your collection

Jasmine Records Import CD Sale

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 44,170
  • UPC: 604988030228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.47/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)