Gerry Mulligan Nights at the Turntable, 1951-1952

Get email alerts for Gerry Mulligan
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $6 (35% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZTJA 82597
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 17, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Jasmine Records UK


  • 1.Roundhouse
  • 2.Ide's Side
  • 3.Bweebida Bobbida
  • 4.Kaper
  • 5.Funhouse
  • 6.Mullenium
  • 7.Mulligan's Too
  • 8.Bernie's Tune
  • 9.Lullaby of the Leaves
  • 10.Utter Chaos
  • 11.Line for Lyons
  • 12.Carioca
  • 13.My Funny Valentine
  • 14.Bark for Barksdale / Utter Chaos
  • 15.Nights at the Turntable
  • 16.Frenesi
  • 17.Aren't You Glad You're You
  • 18.Walkin' Shoes
  • 19.Soft Shoe
  • 20.Freeway

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Gerry Mulligan (baritone saxophone); Chet Baker (trumpet).
Personnel: Gerry Mulligan (baritone saxophone); Allen Eager (tenor saxophone); Max McElroy (baritone saxophone); Chet Baker, Jerry Lloyd, Nick Travis (trumpet); Ollie Wilson (trombone); George Wallington (piano); Chico Hamilton, Walter Bolden (drums); Gail Madden (maracas).
Recording information: Fantasy Studios, San Francisco, CA (09/21/1951-10/16/1952); Gold Star Studios, Los Angeles, CA (09/21/1951-10/16/1952); New York, NY (09/21/1951-10/16/1952); Phil Turetsky's House. Los Angeles, CA (09/21/1951-10/16/1952).
Arranger: Gerry Mulligan.
This knotty little compilation offers an aural view of the transition Gerry Mulligan made from being a sought-after arranger in the late '40s to bandleader and soloist in the early '50s. The music here is compiled from four recording sessions; the first is the entire 1951 Mulligan Plays Mulligan Prestige date with a tentet (including Allen Eager and George Wallington) that yielded both "Roundhouse" and "Funhouse." The remaining 13 cuts come from the three storied Gerry Mulligan Quartet dates with Chet Baker and Chico Hamilton, all recorded between August and October of 1952. Carson Smith plays bass on the first two and Bob Whitlock replaces him on the final one. Tracks such as "My Funny Valentine," "Walkin' Shoes," "Carioca," and the title cut are the standouts. All of this material has been issued before, but this is an interesting manner of showcasing it; the sound is good and the price is very attractive. ~ Thom Jurek
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs
Jasmine Records Import CD Sale

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 51,397
  • UPC: 604988259728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)