David Allan Coe Tattoo / Family Album

Tattoo / Family Album
Get email alerts for David Allan Coe
4 ratings
Sale: $22.49
WINTER SALE: $20.91 Limited Time Only
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $4.08 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
sku:  VW9C
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 1995
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Just To Prove My Love For You
  • 2.Face To Face
  • 3.You'll Always Live Inside of Me
  • 4.Play Me A Sad Song
  • 5.Daddy Was A God Fearin' Man
  • 6.Canteen of Water
  • 7.Maria Is A Mystery
  • 8.Just In Time (To Watch Love Die)
  • 9.San Francisco Mabel Joy
  • 10.Hey Gypsy
  • 11.Family Album
  • 12.Million Dollar Memories
  • 13.Divers Do It Deeper
  • 14.Guilty Footsteps
  • 15.Take This Job and Shove It
  • 16.Houston, Dallas, San Antone
  • 17.I've Got To Have You
  • 18.Whole Lot of Lonesome
  • 19.Bad Impressions
  • 20.Heavenly Father, Holy Mother
  • 21.(If I Could) Climb The Walls of The Bottle

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: TATTOO (1977)/FAMILY ALBUM (1978).
Producers: Ron Bledsoe, David Allan Coe, Billy Sherrill.
Reissue producer: Richard Weize.
Personnel: David Allan Coe (vocals, guitar).
Recording information: CBS Recording Studios; Creative Workshop, Nashville TN; Quadrophonic Studios; Studio By The Pond, Hendersonville, TN; The Studio By The Pond, Hendersonville TN.
Illustrator: R.A. Andreas.
Photographer: R.A. Andreas.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Ralph Gallant; John Lee Christopher; Buster Phillips; Henry Strzelecki; Theodore W Irwin; John C. Williams; Ted Reynolds; Lloyd Green; Reggie Young ; Tommy Allsup; Weldon Myrick; Billy Sanford; Hargus "Pig" Robbins; Ron Oates; Buddy Spicher.
Tattoo and Family Album mark singer/songwriter David Allan Coe's fifth and sixth albums for Columbia, respectively, issued in 1977 and 1978. They also make up the third volume of Bear Family's Columbia Records retrospective covering the years 1974-1981. The issue of Tattoo marked the third album Coe issued in 1977. First there was the often-angry Rides Again, where the "Mysterious Rhinestone Cowboy" made his final recorded appearance; then the self-released Texas Moon, recorded on the road; and finally Tattoo. Tattoo also marks the beginning of Coe's association with Billy Sherrill (though Ron Bledsoe would remain with him until 1980's Invictus Means Unconcquered). Tattoo and Family Album mark a far more sensitive side of Coe. Tattoo features more love songs than most Coe records, and there are some fine ones, such as "Just to Prove My Love for You," "Face to Face," "You'll Always Live Inside of Me," and "Just in Time (To Watch Love Die)." Family Album centers more on the connection to one's roots and connections not only between Coe and his family of origin (raised a Mormon, he was the son of polygamy), but his progeny and the concept of family as a universal concept. Inexplicably, in keeping with his contradictory nature, Family Album also contains the classic "Take This Job and Shove It," which Johnny Paycheck took to number one, and the tasteless "Divers Do It Deeper," which sounds more like Jimmy Buffett than Coe. These albums are generally overlooked in Coe's catalog and shouldn't be; they are consistent, literate, and represent the other side of the outlaw persona Coe worked so hard to create. ~ Thom Jurek
Bear Family Records

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 4000127158390
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)