COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

Anita Carter Ring of Fire

Get email alerts for Anita Carter
22 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $11.60 Limited Time Only
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $7.39 (39% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
17 copies available
Format:  CD
sku:  D4D8
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: December 31, 1988
  • Originally Released: 1988
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.(Love's) Ring of Fire
  • 2.Fair & Tender Ladies
  • 3.Satan's Child
  • 4.Fly Pretty Swallow
  • 5.As The Sparrow Goes
  • 6.All My Trails
  • 7.Voice of The Bayou
  • 8.Sour Grapes
  • 9.Johnny, I Hardly Knew You
  • 10.My Love
  • 11.Few Short Years Ago
  • 12.Kentuckian Song
  • 13.Brian
  • 14.Running Back
  • 15.Take Me Home
  • 16.No, My Love, No
  • 17.Farewell
  • 18.This Life I'm Living
  • 19.My Love Loves Me
  • 20.John, John, John
  • 21.John Hardy Was A Desparate Little Man
  • 22.I Never Will Marry
  • 23.In The Highways
  • 24.Bury Me Beneath The Willow
  • 25.Beautiful Isle O'er The Sea
  • 26.Wildwood Flower

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Anita Carter (vocals); Jerry Kennedy (guitar).
Producers: Shelby Singleton, Jerry Kennedy, Milt Okum.
Recorded in 1962 through 1964.
Adapters: Milton Okun; Anita Carter.
Personnel: Anita Carter (vocals); Helen Carter (vocals); Eric Weissberg (guitar, 12-string guitar); Ernie Calabria (guitar); Harold Bradley (acoustic guitar, tenor banjo); Jerry Kennedy, Ray Edenton (acoustic guitar); Bob Johnson (banjo, lute); Charlie McCoy (harmonica); Buddy Harman (drums).
Liner Note Author: Otto Kitsinger.
Recording information: Columbia Recording Studio, Nashville, TN (11/1962/01/1964); New York, NY (11/1962/01/1964); Sam Phillips Recording Studio, Memphis, TN (11/1962/01/1964).
It's been well documented that June Carter Cash and Merle Kilgore wrote the song "Ring of Fire," which is about her early relationship with Johnny Cash. What's less well known is that it was her youngest sister, Anita, not Johnny Cash, who cut it first, accompanied only by a pair of acoustic guitars. Ring of Fire is the German Bear Family label's presentation of Anita Carter's 1962-1964 Mercury recordings. While Carter is also a daughter of Mother Maybelle, country music, at least in the early '60s, was not her forte -- folk music was. There are 25 tracks here, all of them stunning, some of them unknown, but all of them fine. Some of the cuts here are historic debuts of songs performed by folk and country artist later on. The initial recording of "Satan's Child," written by sister Helen and Danny Dill, Kilgore's "Sour Grapes," her own "All My Trials," and the cut she wrote with June and Kilgore, "As the Sparrow Goes," are all here, as well as readings of A.P. and Maybelle tunes such as her mother's "Fair and Tender Ladies" and "In the Highways," A.P.'s "John Hardy, Bury Me Beneath the Willow," and more. There are unreleased gems here too: a recording of Harlan Howard's "A Few Short Years Ago" and Irving Gordon's "The Kentuckian Song." But more than the cuts -- produced in Nashville and New York by Jerry Kennedy, Shelby Singelton, and Milt Okun -- this recording reveals that Carter's voice is one of the purest and most expressive vehicles either country or folk ever produced. Carter's own reticence is what held her back from superstardom. The music here, most of it with two acoustic guitars, some with a double bass, is simple, even ghostly in the way it frames a voice so seemingly plaintive, yet with a range that is awe-inspiring, given how pristine her singing was, and how she could take even the corniest song ("Voice of the Bayou") and make it a believable and true statement of passion, purpose, or poisonous emotion. By the time the record ends with "Wildwood Flower," the listener has been transported out of time and space and into the heart of Carter's mysterious, darkly inviting, and spiritually resilient vocal. This is one of the best single-volume compilations Bear Family has ever done. ~ Thom Jurek
Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 24,943
  • UPC: 4000127154347
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)