Roy Hamilton Anthology (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Roy Hamilton
6 ratings
SALE: $8.98
List Price: $25.97
You Save: $16.99 (65% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  COL 8823
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

This anthology includes some of Roy Hamilton's biggest R&B and Pop hits from the '50s and '60s. Hamilton had a big, booming, and powerfully distinctive voice that is instantly recognizable even today. He did his best work for the Epic label and those recordings are the basis of this collection.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Don't Let Go
  • 2.You'll Never Walk Alone (from "Carousel")
  • 3.Hurt
  • 4.Unchained Melody (from "Unchained")
  • 5.I Believe
  • 6.Forgive This Fool
  • 7.Since I Fell For You
  • 8.A Great Romance
  • 9.Ebb Tide
  • 10.I'll Walk Alone
  • 11.You're Gonna Need Magic
  • 12.You Can Have Her
  • 13.Mood Indigo
  • 14.I Could Have Told You
  • 15.I Get The Blues When It Rains
  • 16.Sophisticated Lady
  • 17.My Story
  • 18.Cottage For Sale

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Solitude
  • 2.Please Send Me Someone To Love
  • 3.I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
  • 4.I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  • 5.Stormy Weather
  • 6.I Surrender Dear
  • 7.Nature Boy
  • 8.(Get Your Kicks On) Route 66
  • 9.Stardust
  • 10.Only You
  • 11.My Reverie
  • 12.Till Then
  • 13.Mona Lisa
  • 14.Too Young
  • 15.My Prayer
  • 16.Gypsy
  • 17.True Love
  • 18.(At) The End (Of A Rainbow)

Product Description:

Personnel: Roy Hamilton (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
Anthology offers 18 selections that cover Roy Hamilton's recording career with Epic, a decade-long relationship that produced a prolific 16 albums' worth of material and spawned ten Top 20 R&B hits. Like Billy Eckstine before him, Hamilton possessed a rich baritone voice with ample vibrato, although the dramatic punch of his delivery was purely his own. He also had the versatility to switch from swinging rhythm & blues numbers like his 1958 hit "Don't Let Go," to material that cast him as a pop balladeer like "Ebb Tide" and his chart-dominating debut single, "You'll Never Walk Alone," which spent a staggering eight weeks at number one in 1954. His best songs bridge styles, none more so than "Unchained Melody," later recast as a hit for the Righteous Brothers, or the protean country R&B of "I'll Walk Alone." Most of Anthology, however, treads the dinner-club terrain of pop standards like "Mona Lisa," "Stormy Weather," and "Route 66," all of which Hamilton delivers with appropriate elegance, but tend to leave him with the pack rather than leading it. ~ Wade Kergan
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 2,875
  • UPC: 090431882320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)