Earl Hines A Monday Date (Live)

Get email alerts for Earl Hines
SALE: $7.98
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $8 (50% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZSUR 00544
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: December 4, 1989
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Ojc


  • 1.A Monday Date
  • 2.Bill Bailey, Won't You Please Come Home
  • 3.Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans?
  • 4.Lonesome Road
  • 5.Squeeze Me
  • 6.Limehouse Blues
  • 7.West End Blues
  • 8.Yes Sir, That's My Baby
  • 9.Caution Blues
  • 10.Mandy, Make up Your Mind
  • 11.A Closer Walk With Thee
  • 12.Clarinet Marmalade

Product Description:

Personnel: Earl "Fatha" Hines (vocals, piano); Eddie Smith (trumpet); Jimmy Archey (trombone); Darnell Howard (clarinet); Pops Foster (bass); Earl Watkins (drums).
Recorded live at The Birdhouse, Chicago, Illinois on September 7 & 8, 1961. Originally released on Riverside (398). Includes liner notes by Chris Albertson.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Personnel: Earl Hines (vocals, piano); Darnell Howard (clarinet); Eddie Smith , Eddie Smith (trumpet); Jimmy Archey (trombone); Earl Watkins (drums).
Liner Note Author: Chris Albertson.
Recording information: Birdhouse, Chicago, IL (09/07/1961/09/08/1961); The Birdhouse, Chicago, IL (09/07/1961/09/08/1961).
Photographer: Steve Schapiro.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Darnell Howard; Eddie Smith ; Earl Watkins; Jimmy Archey; Pops Foster.
Arranger: Earl Hines.
Earl Hines, one of jazz's greatest pianists, was a modern stylist who broke up the usual stride piano pattern of the 1920s with unexpected accents and an uncanny ability to play successfully with time; he had the trickiest left hand in the business. After his orchestra disbanded in 1947 and he spent a few unfulfilling years as a sideman with the Louis Armstrong All Stars, Hines entered a decade of critical neglect and indifference in which his talents were pretty well forgotten; he found himself playing Dixieland in San Francisco for several years. This particular CD is a decent Dixieland set with trumpeter Eddie Smith, trombonist Jimmy Archey and clarinetist Darnell Howard. Still, Hines's abilities are somewhat wasted on tunes such as "Bill Bailey," "Yes Sir, That's My Baby" and "Clarinet Marmalade." His renaissance was still three years in the future. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218174022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)