Tina Turner Break Every Rule

Get email alerts for Tina Turner
29 ratings
SALE: $15.99
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  ZSUR 40306
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 25, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Capitol Records 19841 (1986)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Legendary performer Tina Turner's 1986 album "Break Every Rule" was a smash international hit and includes the #2 Pop hit, "Typical Male."


  • 1.Typical Male
  • 2.What You Get Is What You See
  • 3.Two People
  • 4.Till the Right Man Comes Along
  • 5.Afterglow
  • 6.Girls
  • 7.Back Where You Started
  • 8.Break Every Rule
  • 9.Overnight Sensation
  • 10.Paradise Is Here
  • 11.I'll Be Thunder

Product Description:

Personnel: Tina Turner (vocals); Bryan Adams (vocals, guitar, piano); Rupert Hine (various instruments, background vocals); Terry Britten (guitar, bass, drum programming, background vocals); Keith Scott, Jamie West-Oram, Mark Knopfler (guitar); Graham Lyle (mandolin); Branford Marsalis (soprano saxophone); Tim Cappello (saxophone); Tommy Mandell (organ); Nick Glennie-Smith, Bill Livsey, Guy Fletcher (keyboards); Steve Winwood (synthesizer); Albert Boekholt (programming); Dave Taylor, Mickey Feat (bass); Phil Collins, Jack Bruno, Micky Curry, Jamie Lane (drums); Gary Katell, Jim Vallance, Frank Ricotti (percussion); Tessa Niles, Samantha Brown, Margot Buchanan, Jimmy Chambers, George Chandler (background vocals).
Producers include: Mark Knopfler, Terry Britten, Rupert Hine, Bryan Adams, Bob Clearmountain.
Engineers include: John Hudson, Bob Clearmountain, Stephen W. Tayler.
Because it contains its share of memorable and inspired material -- and even a few gems -- it seems inappropriate to call Tina Turner's Break Every Rule a disappointment. But because Private Dancer was so incredible a comeback, one greeted this anxiously awaited follow-up with such high expectations that anything less than outstanding would have been disappointing. And the album isn't outstanding -- it's generally quite enjoyable and far from weak -- but not outstanding. Be that as it may, there's a lot to savor here. "Two People" is forgettable, but Turner definitely has some gems in the power ballad "I'll Be Thunder," the driving rocker "Back Where You Started" and the haunting David Bowie piece "Girls." While Private Dancer would be a much better introduction to Turner's work as a solo artist, this has more pluses than minuses. ~ Alex Henderson

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 090431868621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)