Get email alerts for The Wizards Featuring Joel Katz
9 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD-R
item number:  COL 8561
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 27, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

A marvelous set of doo wop covers from The Wizards, featuring Joel Katz. Includes versions of the Four J's "Here Am I Broken Hearted," "What Brought Us Together" by The Edsels and gorgeous original group harmony tracks "Street Corner" and "Guardian Angel."


  • 1.Here Am I Broken Hearted
  • 2.The Key To My Heart
  • 3.What Brought Us Together
  • 4.Remember Then
  • 5.These Golden Rings
  • 6.I Hear Bells
  • 7.Street Corner
  • 8.Maybe You'll Be There
  • 9.Guardian Angel
  • 10.That Lucky Old Sun

Product Description:

The Wizards: Tom Lewandowski, Jeff See, Rob Brembt, Don Dougherty, Joel Katz.
Personnel: Rob Brembt, Don Dougherty, Joel Katz (vocals).
Audio Mixers: Joel Katz; Johnny Maestro.
Recording information: Broadway South, Fair Lawn, NJ.
The Wizards were formed in 1981 for a Joel Katz studio project, one of several such groups the singer has fronted over the years. The Wizards per se remained a recording group with Katz on lead vocals until roughly 1985, turning out well-recorded facsimiles of vintage doo wop material that unfortunately added little innovation to the genre. This ten-song sampler presents some of the group's better tracks, including the deliberately nostalgic (in truth, all of Katz's projects fall under the nostalgia tag) "Remember Then," the light, sprung rhythm of "The Key to My Heart," and "Street Corner," which starts out as a homage to a lost era and ends up being yet another love song. As a group essentially caught out of time, the Wizards' deliberate throwback sound means they are virtually indistinguishable from the authentic vocal groups of the actual doo wop era, which is either a great thing or a sad thing, depending on one's stance and position on such things. This brief collection is probably all anyone would need to make the call. ~ Steve Leggett
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 2,363
  • UPC: 090431856123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)