Greatest Trumpet Of Them All

Price: $16.20
List Price: $17.99
You Save: $1.79 (10% Off)
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Only 10 copies left
Format:  Vinyl LP
item number:  6WRDF
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Released: May 5, 2017
  • Originally Released: 2017
  • Label: Waxtime

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Blues After Dark
  • 2.Sea Breeze
  • 3.Out Of The Past
  • 4.Shabozz

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Reminiscing
  • 2.A Nights At Tony's
  • 3.Smoke Signals
  • 4.Just By Myself
  • 5.There Is No Greater Love

Product Description:

The title given this LP may very well be true, but this particular session is surprisingly restrained. Dizzy Gillespie is heard in an octet with tenor saxophonist Benny Golson, altoist Gigi Gryce, trombonist Henry Coker and baritonist Pee Wee Moore, but the Golson arrangements seem to inhibit the trumpeter and the repertoire (mostly by Golson and Gryce) fails to inspire Gillespie. For many other jazz musicians this would be a "good" or even "fine" effort, but Dizzy Gillespie has recorded too much classic music for this disappointment to rate very high. ~ Scott Yanow
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 64,918
  • UPC: 8436559461283
  • Shipping Weight: 0.75/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)