Stanley Turrentine The Classic Blue Note Collection (4-CD)

Get email alerts for Stanley Turrentine
SUPER SAVINGS: $14 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $0.99 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
item number:  6WKX9
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: November 15, 2019
  • Originally Released: 2019
  • Label: Enlightenment

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Look Out!
  • 2.Journey Into Melody
  • 3.Return Engagement
  • 4.Little Sheri
  • 5.Tiny Capers
  • 6.Minor Chant
  • 7.I Want a Little Girl
  • 8.Gee Baby Ain't I Good to You
  • 9.Blue Riff
  • 10.Since I Fell for You
  • 11.Willow Weep for Me

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.My Girl Is Just Enough Woman for Me
  • 2.Then I'll Be Tired of You
  • 3.Fine Li'l Lass
  • 4.Thomasville
  • 5.Someone to Watch Over Me
  • 6.Stolen Sweets
  • 7.But Not for Me
  • 8.Stanley's Time
  • 9.Broadway
  • 10.Yesterdays

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Later at Minton's
  • 2.Come Rain or Come Shine
  • 3.Love for Sale
  • 4.Summertime
  • 5.Baia
  • 6.Wee Hour Theme
  • 7.My Shining Hour
  • 8.Troubles of the World
  • 9.Yesterdays
  • 10.Dearly Beloved
  • 11.Nothing Ever Changes My Love for You

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Z.T.'s Blues
  • 2.More Than You Know
  • 3.The Lamp Is Low
  • 4.The Way You Look Tonight
  • 5.For Heaven's Sake
  • 6.I Wish I Knew
  • 7.Be My Love
  • 8.Smile, Stacey
  • 9.Soft Pedal Blues
  • 10.Pia
  • 11.We'll See Yaw'll After While, Ya Heah
  • 12.Dorene Don't Cry, I
  • 13.Light Blue

Product Description:

A jazz tenor saxophonist of huge merit, Stanley Turrentine, often fondly nicknamed The Sugar Man, pursued an illustrious career in jazz and R&B which spanned an impressive five decades. Finding his inspiration in blues, his eclectic use of style and form earned this gifted musician four Grammy nominations, and a back catalogue that boasts 30 records on which he is credited a leader, and numerous more as sideman. This 4CD boxset collates Stanley Turrentine's albums as leader - all released on the Blue Note label - across the earliest part of his lengthy musical career. Remaining revered to this day among jazz and soul, this collection serves as both a welcome reminder of the man's enormous talent, and complex yet approachable music, and as a fine starting point for those eager to discover arguably the best music the esteemed musical Mr. T ever produced.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 21,445
  • UPC: 823564031460
  • Shipping Weight: 0.46/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)