Lesley Gore California Nights

Get email alerts for Lesley Gore
Price: $13.60
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $0.39 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 6 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  638R9
Brand New

CD Details

  • United Kingdom - Import
  • Released: June 2, 2015
  • Originally Released: 1967
  • Label: Imports


  • 1.California Nights
  • 2.Treat Me Like A Lady
  • 3.Bad
  • 4.I'm Going Out (The Same Way I Came In)
  • 5.Maybe Now
  • 6.Love Goes On Forever
  • 7.Off and Running
  • 8.Lilacs and Violets
  • 9.The Bubble Broke
  • 10.Cry Like A Baby
  • 11.My Town, My Guy and Me
  • 12.Let Me Dream
  • 13.Start The Party Again
  • 14.I Won't Love You Anymore (Sorry)
  • 15.I Just Can't Get Enough of You
  • 16.To Know Him Is To Love Him
  • 17.Will You Love Me Tomorrow
  • 18.Only Last Night
  • 19.With Any Other Girl
  • 20.I Can Tell
  • 21.We Know We're In Love
  • 22.Yeh, Yeh, Yeh (That Boy of Mine)
  • 23.That's What I'll Do
  • 24.Happiness Is Just Around The Corner
  • 25.Hold Me Tight

Product Description:

Liner Note Authors: Eydie Gorme; Malcolm Baumgart; Steve Lawrence.
When Lesley Gore recorded California Nights in 1967, it had only been two years since her last big hit -- "Sunshine, Lollipops and Rainbows," which made it to 13 in 1965 -- but it felt like even longer due to all the shifting trends of the late '60s. Assisted by producers Bob Crewe (who helmed seven of the LP's ten tracks) and Quincy Jones (who is responsible for the three other cuts, all arranged by Jack Nitzche), Gore dove right into the fashionable sounds of Los Angeles in 1967. It was hardly hippie and not quite psychedelic but those trippy sounds were certainly in the air and can be heard on California Nights via fuzz guitars, mind-bending echoes, and whirling strings, but all this is tempered by a good dose of go-go beats and middle of the road pop. All these accouterments make California Nights very much a record of its time, and if it didn't make many waves at the time -- the appealingly hazy title track made it to 16 but the album stalled at 169 -- it stands as something of an underrated period piece, anchored by the gorgeous, cinematic productions of Crewe and enlivened by the savvier Jones, who is responsible for the snappy rock & roll of "Off & Running" and the liquid pulse of "Cry Like a Baby," which effectively splits the difference between uptown soul and hip Hollywood flair. [Ace's 2015 reissue expands California Nights with 16 bonus tracks, most taken from the 1965 albums My Town, My Guy & Me and All About Love, along with a few singles and three cuts that first surfaced on Bear Family's big Lesley Gore box from 1994. All this material is more straightforward than California Nights, falling somewhere between middle of the road pop and pop-soul, and while that may mean it's not quite as distinctive, it's still well-crafted and pleasurable. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 54,095
  • UPC: 029667071826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)