Avenged Sevenfold City of Evil

City of Evil
Get email alerts for Avenged Sevenfold
474 ratings
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $7.06 Limited Time Only
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $0.92 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
sku:  HDW9
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 7, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Warner Bros / WEA


  • 1.Beast and the Harlot
  • 2.Burn It Down
  • 3.Blinded in Chains
  • 4.Bat Country
  • 5.Trashed and Scattered
  • 6.Seize the Day
  • 7.Sidewinder
  • 8.The Wicked End
  • 9.Strength of the World
  • 10.Betrayed
  • 11.M.I.A.

Product Description:

Personnel: Synyster Gates (vocals, guitar, piano); Zacky Vengeance (vocals, guitar); The Reverend (vocals, piano, drums); M. Shadows (vocals); Brian Haner (guitar); Songa Lee, Alan Grunfeld, Sam Fischer, Mark Robertson , Bruce Dukov, Liane Mautner, Samuel Formicola (violin); Matthew Funes , Dave Walther (viola); David Mergen, David Low , Victor Lawrence (cello); Johnny Christ (bass guitar); The Rev. (drums).
Audio Mixer: Andy Wallace.
Recording information: ocean way; The Hobby Shop.
Photographer: Chapman Baehler.
Unknown Contributor Role: Brian Haner.
Even though Avenged Sevenfold's first two albums clearly got them lumped into the emo camp, the California quintet always hinted at the heavy metal influence of bands like Iron Maiden. With their major-label debut CITY OF EVIL, not only have they fleshed out these tendencies via the intricate riffing of dual guitarists Zacky Vengeance and Synyster Gates, but they've begun to dabble with more intricate, prog-like song structures. And with singer M. Shadows recovering from vocal chord surgery, he employs a considerably more melodic approach.
The first half of CITY cleaves to what longtime fans have come to expect: dive-bombing call-and-response riffing and furious double-bass-drum attacks, peppering cuts like the soaring "Burn It Down" and the equally ferocious "Blinded in Chains." Following the power-ballad tendencies of "Seize the Day," with its subtle piano accompaniment and Shadow's full-bodied crooning, things get really interesting. Song lengths start to hover around the seven-to-nine-minute mark, and intriguing nuances come into play, like the boys' choir and 14-piece string section that defines the epic grandeur of "The Wicked End," and the Latin jam complete with flamenco flourishes that close out "Sidewinder."

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 94,603
  • UPC: 093624861324
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)