Paul Weller As Is Now

Mojo (Publisher): Ranked #32 in Mojo's "The 50 Best Albums Of 2005" - "[A] career highlight....His best since WILDWOOD."
Get email alerts for Paul Weller
24 ratings
Price: $9
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $7.98 (47% Off)
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  HDK4
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 11, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Yep Roc Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.63
Ranked #32 in Mojo's "The 50 Best Albums Of 2005" - "[A] career highlight....His best since WILDWOOD."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.100
4 stars out of 5 - "The most striking thing about it is the mood - a friskiness and lightness of touch, even a welcome touch of corniness and self-deprecation, that seems to have been missing in recent years."


  • 1.Blink and You'll Miss It
  • 2.Paper Smile
  • 3.Come On / Let's Go
  • 4.Here's the Good News
  • 5.The Start of Forever
  • 6.Pan
  • 7.All on a Misty Morning
  • 8.From the Floor Boards Up
  • 9.I Wanna Make It Alright
  • 10.Savages
  • 11.Fly Little Bird
  • 12.Roll Along Summer
  • 13.Bring Back the Funk, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 14.The Pebble and the Boy

Product Description:

Personnel: Steve Cradock (vocals, guitar); Paul John Weller (vocals, piano); Arlia de Ruiter, Pauline Terlow (violin); Mieke Honingh (viola); Rosie Wetters, Bastiaan Van Der Werf (cello); Benjamin Korman (alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Jan Van Duikeren (trumpet, flugelhorn); Louk Boudesteijn (trombone); Damon Minchella (bass guitar); Steve "Supe" White (drums).
Audio Mixer: Joeri Saal.
Recording information: Wheeler End, Busks, England (03/2005-05/2005).
Photographer: Lawrence Watson.
Following swiftly on the heels of his 2004 covers album, AS IS NOW finds Paul Weller looking to various phases of his career for an assured and eclectic record. On this 2005 outing, the British "Modfather" largely downplays his love of soul in favor of 1960s-inspired pub-rock (the lively opener, "Blink and You'll Miss It") and folk-influenced tunes (the chiming "All on a Misty Morning"). Most notably, however, Weller revisits the edgy sound of his beloved punk group, the Jam, on the energetic "Come On/Let's Go" and the driving "From the Floorboards Up." Of course, no Weller solo album would be complete without a groove-laden tune, and here he offers up the self-explanatory "Bring Back the Funk (Pts 1 & 2)," which highlights the tight interplay of his band. While longtime fans have plenty to admire on AS IS NOW, this dynamic set also serves an excellent sampler of Weller's stylistic range for the uninitiated.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 120,034
  • UPC: 634457211223
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)