MF Doom Operation: Doomsday

Spin: "[A] thoroughly original debut...[with] witty rhymes over tracks collaged from R&B and cartoon samples."
Get email alerts for MF Doom
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  Vinyl LP
item number:  6WCXE
on most orders of $75+
New Condition
Related products:

Vinyl LP Details

  • Released: October 21, 2016
  • Originally Released: 2016
  • Label: Metal Face Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - p.76
"[A] thoroughly original debut...[with] witty rhymes over tracks collaged from R&B and cartoon samples."
Spin - p.51
Ranked #8 in Spin's 'The Top 10 Reissues Of 2011' -- "[H]ere, he's all dense flow and revelatory mischief."
Spin - 8/00, pp.152-4
8 out of 10 - "...A rambling exercise in musical therapy....the production is all mid-'80s quiet storm balladry....Doom effectively rhyming over the original musical backdrops....fulfilling KMD's mythology..."
Alternative Press - 5/01, pp.86-7
3 out of 5 - "...Places an insightful spin on Doom's history on the rap game....the mish-mashed musical styles that MF incorporates lend a bit of variety, and the generally lo-fi production values give the album character..."
CMJ - 4/30/01, p.20
"...Never has there been a more satisfying demo-quality recording....refreshingly amatuerish and experimental....masterful..."
NME (Magazine) - 6/30/01, p.41
6 out of 10 - "...Relaxed bass strolls and a voice that doen;t hide its sadness occupy the mix....Watch out for the spacey mix and cryptic vocal samples as well..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.101
4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his outside attack launched the bomb, and made MF Doom the leftfield hero that he remains today."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Time We Faced Doom (Skit)
  • 2.Doomsday
  • 3.Rhymes Like Dimes
  • 4.The Finest
  • 5.Back In The Days (Skit)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Go With The Flow
  • 2.Tick, Tick...
  • 3.Red And Gold
  • 4.The Hands Of Doom (Skit)
  • 5.Who You Think I Am?

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Doom, Are You Awake? (Skit)
  • 2.Hey!
  • 3.Operation: Greenbacks
  • 4.The Mic
  • 5.The Mystery Of Doom (Skit)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Dead Bent
  • 2.Gas Drawls
  • 3.?
  • 4.Hero v.s. Villain (Epilogue)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: M.F. Doom, Kurious, Megalon, Rodan, Tommy Gunn, Cucumber Slice, E. Mason, MF Grimm, King Ghidra, X-Ray, K.D., Kong.
Daniel Dumile aka MF Doom unleashed his debut LP in early 1999. Doom's flow is warm, rough-hewn, and definitely charming--standing in stark contrast to the alienating, intimidating man in the mask--while the production sounds like a smoother, jazzier take on the early-'90s sampling era. This starting point has enough substance to warrant repeated listens while foreshadowing MF Doom's strengths on future releases.
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Groupings:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 75,087
  • UPC: 829357009418
  • Shipping Weight: 0.92/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)