This Is Who I Am
Get email alerts for Heather Headley
5 ratings
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  SSP 98287
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 8, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 11/28/02, p.86
3 stars out of 5 - "...[A] smooth debut....She's just herself, and that's more than enough..."


  • 1.He Is
  • 2.Nature of a Man
  • 3.Fallin' for You
  • 4.I Wish I Wasn't
  • 5.Fulltime
  • 6.Like Ya Use To
  • 7.Always Been Your Girl
  • 8.Sunday
  • 9.Four Words From a Heartbreak
  • 10.Sista Girl
  • 11.Why Should I Cry
  • 12.If It Wasn't for Your Love

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Heather Headley (vocals); Chukki Starr (rap vocals); Joshua Nile, V. Jeffrey Smith (various instruments, programming); Gary Haase, Jimmy Jam, Terry Lewis (various instruments); Ed Baden-Powell (guitar, keyboards, bass, programming); Jeff Mironov, Frankie Romano, Professa Funk, Dallas Austin, Tomi Martin, Mike Scott, Terence Elliot, Tim Stewart (guitar); Richard Locker (cello); Shelley Woodworth (oboe); Rob Mounsey (piano); Jeremy Ruzumna (Hammond B-3 organ); James "Big Jim" Wright, Michael Norfleet, Slyvia Bennett Smith, Reed Vertelney, Kwame Kwaten (keyboards); Steve Mostyn (bass); Steve Marston (percussion); Deborah Cox, Sara Devine, Renee Neufville, Shanice, Vanessa A. Jones, Audrey Martells, Gabrielle Lauder (background vocals).
Producers include: D-Influence, Joshua Nile, The Phantom, Reed Vertelney, Sylvia Bennett.
Heather Headley was nominated for the 2004 Grammy Award for Best New Artist. "I Wish I Wasn't" was nominated for Best Female R&B Vocal Performance.
The first solo album from Heather Headley, who won a 1998 Tony for her performance in Tim Rice and Elton John's AIDA, is slick, contemporary urban R&B with just a hint of her native Trinidadian background. Songs such as the sizzling album-opener "He Is" and the sultry "Always Been Your Girl" demonstrate her range, while the after-hours appeal of "Nature of a Man" is undeniable.
There's little trace of Headley's theatrical roots save in the variety of moods she's able to conjure, and she makes the crossover from stage to recording studio seem almost effortless. While she's obviously more at home with the balladry of songs such as "Fulltime," the lighthearted pop swing of "Sunday" is a charming hint of what she may be capable of on future outings.

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 41,952
  • UPC: 886919828726
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)