John Lewis The Wonderful World of Jazz / Evolution (2-CD)

Get email alerts for John Lewis
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.80 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $3.19 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  36ES2
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 24, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1375 (1960)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 83211 (1999)

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Body and Soul
  • 2.I Should Care
  • 3.Two Degrees East, Three Degrees West
  • 4.Afternoon in Paris
  • 5.I Remember Clifford

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • 2.September Song
  • 3.Afternoon in Paris
  • 4.Two Degrees East, Three Degrees West
  • 5.I'll Remember April
  • 6.Django
  • 7.Willow Weep For Me
  • 8.Cherokee
  • 9.For Ellington
  • 10.Don't Blame Me
  • 11.At the Horse Show

Product Description:

Personnel: John Lewis (piano); Eric Dolphy (saxophone, alto saxophone); Paul Gonsalves, Benny Golson (saxophone, tenor saxophone); James Rivers (baritone saxophone); Herb Pomeroy (trumpet); Gunther Schuller (French horn); John Richard Lewis (piano); Connie Kay (drums); Jim Hall (guitar).
Liner Note Author: Ralph J. Gleason.
Recording information: Music Hall, Tarrytown, NY (01/12/1999-01/15/1999).
Photographers: Will Mosgrove; Scott Peterman.
Arranger: John Richard Lewis.
Collectables presents a surprisingly logical double reissue of two great Atlantic albums by pianist, composer, arranger and bandleader John Lewis. The Wonderful World of Jazz was originally released in 1960; Evolution (the first of two by that title) came out in 1999. These albums complement each other quite well; much better in fact than some other Collectables two-fers. The music recorded in July and September 1960 involved Lewis' quartet (Jim Hall, George Duvivier and Connie Kay) and two different teams of wind players: Herb Pomeroy, Gunther Schuller, Eric Dolphy, Paul Gonsalves, Benny Golson and a baritone saxophonist identified here -- probably for contractual reasons -- as "James Rivers." This is known to have been Jimmy Giuffre rather than New Orleans-based R&B saxophonist Jim Rivers. Each selection on Wonderful is remarkably accessible and fine. A fifteen-and-a-half minute version of "Body and Soul" (the track list on the back cover says five-and-a-half) is exquisite. "Evolution" is a solo piano recital recorded at Tarrytown Music Hall in Tarrytown, NY during January of 1999. Two of the titles are visitations, as it were, from the album issued 39 years earlier. The elderly pianist puts 11 melodies through his unique and personal set of variations, which appear to be taking place in the sky overhead, independent from conventional notions of pace and timing. The best imaginable example of this curious methodology is his pleasantly eccentric approach to "Sweet Georgia Brown." Other marvelous moments occur during a refreshing rendition of "Cherokee" and a moving paean "For Ellington." ~ arwulf arwulf
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,863
  • UPC: 090431783528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Saturday: 11am-6pm, Sunday: Closed (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)