Brian Setzer Rockabilly Riot! Volume One: A Tribute to Sun Records (2LPs)

Get email alerts for Brian Setzer
Price: $32.40
List Price: $34.99
You Save: $2.59 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Format:  Vinyl LP  (2 Records)
item number:  7H8X3
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Number of Records: 2
  • Released: May 28, 2021
  • Originally Released: 2021
  • Label: Surfdog Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.98
3 stars out of 5 - "[A] fruitful trawl of Sun's rockabilly vaults....[The] pickings are rich indeed..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Red Hot
  • 2.Slow Down
  • 3.Real Wild Child
  • 4.Rockhouse
  • 5.Put Your Cat Clothes On
  • 6.Lonely Weekends
  • 7.Get It Off Your Mind

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Just Because
  • 2.Glad All Over
  • 3.Flatfoot Sam
  • 4.Rock'n'Roll Ruby
  • 5.Blue Suede Shoes
  • 6.Tennessee Zip

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Mona Lisa
  • 2.Peroxide Blonde In A Hopped Up Model Ford
  • 3.Get Rhythm
  • 4.Stairway To Nowhere
  • 5.Boppin' The Blues

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Rakin' And Scrapin'
  • 2.Sweet Woman
  • 3.Flyin' Saucer Rock And Roll
  • 4.Lonely Wolf
  • 5.Red Cadillac And A Black Moustache

Product Description:

Since his days leading rockabilly revivalists the Stray Cats in the 1980s, Brian Setzer has been the unofficial, modern-day ambassador of '50s rock & roll. With 2005's ROCKABILLY RIOT!: VOLUME ONE, Setzer pays homage to Sun Records, the label that helped define the genre. Focusing on the years 1954 to 1957, Setzer replicates the rockabilly sound of Sun's golden era by using vintage instruments, and arrangements that include urgent acoustic guitar rhythms and rocking roadhouse piano.
RIOT covers well-known songs originally cut by Johnny Cash ("Get Rhythm") and Carl Perkins ("Blue Suede Shoes"), alongside tunes by more obscure artists like Billy Lee Riley ("Flyin' Saucer Rock and Roll") and Kenny Parchman ("Tennessee Zip"). Setzer also wrangled musical help from artists who were part of the early rock & roll scene. Famed vocalists The Jordanaires were brought aboard to lend their trademark harmonies to the toe-tapping shuffle "Lonely Weekends," the honky-tonk "Stairway to Nowhere" and twang-soaked "Flatfoot Sam." Setzer also recruited Jumpin' Gene Simmons (not to be confused with the Kiss bassist) to help recreate the former's boogie-woogie "Peroxide Blonde in a Hopped Up Model Ford." A musical time machine, RIOT is a treat for fans of Setzer's Stray Cats and solo work, and for devotees of the Sun Records catalogue.
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,140
  • UPC: 810020503425
  • Shipping Weight: 1.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)