Fancy Wild Thing

Get email alerts for Fancy
4 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $6.99 (54% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 7770
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 21, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Big Tree 89502 (1974)

Description by

70s rockers Fancy scored big with their first release Wild Thing; originally released by Big Tree in 1974. The hit album featured 2 charting singles, "Touch Me" and "Wild Thing."


  • 1.Wild Thing
  • 2.Love For Sale
  • 3.Move On
  • 4.I Don't Need Your Love
  • 5.One Night
  • 6.Touch Me
  • 7.U. S. Surprise
  • 8.Between The Devil And Me
  • 9.I'm A Woman
  • 10.Feel Good

Product Description:

Anyone who was anywhere near a radio through the summer of 1974 will doubtless remember it well. A lascivious bassline throbbing obtrusively through the ether, a scythed guitar hacking one of rock's most memorable riffs, a synthesizer line which sounded like Jell-O dripping from vertiginous heights, and over it all, a young lady in a seemingly serious state of sexual arousal moaning, "wild thing, I think you... move me?" Donna Summer had nothing on Helen Court, and she, it swiftly transpired, simply had nothing on. A former Penthouse Pet, and therefore presumably well-versed in the lascivious manipulation of juvenile male hormones, Court turned in what remains one of the most pointedly sexual vocal performances ever to transfix an American radio audience. No wonder her band was called Fancy. Court, many listeners were disappointed to discover, recorded just the one single with Fancy; by the time of their debut album, she had been replaced by Australian Annie Kavanagh, but what they now lacked in steaminess, they more than made up for with passion -- comparable to Sonja Kristina, Kavanagh's performance on the group's second hit single, "Touch Me," and excellent versions of Elvis' "One Night" and Lieber-Stoller's "I'm a Woman," set the tone for the remainder of the album, a pounding blend of studious funk and glistening rock, shot through with some remarkable blues as well. Occasionally it falls into somewhat workmanlike territory -- excellent producers Mike Hurst and musicians Ray Fenwick aren't always the finest songwriters, and there was also a hint of haste around the album as they strove to strike while the iron was hot. Equally pertinently, the discovery that there was more to Fancy than three minutes of squelching did much to lessen both the album's impact and its subsequent allure. But approach it with an open mind (or, at least, a clean one) and Wild Thing will bare some deceptive charms. ~ Dave Thompson
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 5,574
  • UPC: 090431777022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)