Stereolab Emperor Tomato Ketchup [Expanded Edition] (2-CD)

Spin: Ranked #46 in Spin Magazine's "90 Greatest Albums of the '90s."
Get email alerts for Stereolab
Price: $19
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $0.99 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  6W4V3
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 13, 2019
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Warp Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 5/13/99, p.80
Included in Rolling Stone's "Essential Recordings of the 90's."
Spin - 9/99, p.142
Ranked #46 in Spin Magazine's "90 Greatest Albums of the '90s."
Spin - 1/97, p.59
Ranked #17 on Spin's list of the "20 Best Albums of '96."
Entertainment Weekly - 4/12/96, p.68
"They may be influenced by obscure German groups, they may sing partially in French, but Stereolab's kitsch pop is enjoyable even without a foreign-language degree..." - Rating: B+
Melody Maker - 12/21-28/96, pp.66-67
Ranked #37 on Melody Maker's list of 1996's "Albums Of The Year."
Melody Maker - 3/16/96, p.37
Bloody Essential - "...The new space and polyrhythmic tension that has infused Stereolab's sound is immediately apparent from the opening..."
Musician - 6/96, p.86
"...EMPEROR TOMATO KETCHUP is extraordinary....never before has this too-prolific combo placed so much of what they're good at in the same place at the same time..."
Village Voice (2/25/97) - Ranked #7 in the Village Voice's 1996 Pazz & Jop Critics' Poll.
NME (Magazine) - 12/21-28/96, pp.66-67
Ranked #18 in NME's 1996 critics' poll.
NME (Magazine) - 3/16/96, p.49
8 (out of 10) - " seems that this motley crew of English second-hand record dweebs, French political, er, lecturers and instrumental boffins have simply reached their peak..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Metronomic Underground
  • 2.Cybele's Reverie
  • 3.Percolator
  • 4.Yper Sound, Les
  • 5.Spark Plug
  • 6.OLV 26
  • 7.The Noise of Carpet
  • 8.Tomorrow Is Already Here
  • 9.Emperor Tomato Ketchup
  • 10.Monstre Sacre
  • 11.Motoroller Scalatron
  • 12.Slow Fast Hazel
  • 13.Anonymous Collective

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Freestyle Dumpling
  • 2.Noise of Carpet [Original Mix] - (remix)
  • 3.Old Lungs
  • 4.Percolator [Original Mix] - (remix)
  • 5.Cybele's Reverie Demo
  • 6.Spark Plug [Demo]
  • 7.Spinal Column [Demo]
  • 8.Emperor Tomato Ketchup [Demo]
  • 9.Yper Sound Demo, Les
  • 10.Metronomic Underground [Demo]
  • 11.Percolator Demo
  • 12.Tomorrow Is Already Here [Demo]
  • 13.Brigitte [Demo]
  • 14.Motoroller Scalatron [Demo]
  • 15.Anonymous Collective [Demo]

Product Description:

Stereolab: Duncan Brown, Tim Gane, Mary Hansen, Morgane Lhote, Andy Ramsay, Laetitia Sadier (vocals, various instruments).
Additional personnel: Sean O'Hagan (string arranger, electric piano, organ, vibraphone); Marcus Holdaway, Sally Herbert, Mandy Drummond, Meg Gates (strings); Ray Dickarty (alto saxophone); John McEntire (vibraphone, guitar, synthesizers, maracas, tambourine).
Producers include: Paul Tipler, Duncan Brown, Tim Gane, Mary Hansen, Morgane Lhote.
Engineers include: Paul Tipler, John McEntire, Paul Tipler.
Recorded at Blackwing Studios, London, England and Idful Music Corp., Chicago, Illinois.
Personnel: Marcus Holdaway, Meg Gates, Mandy Drummond, Sally Herbert (strings); John McEntire (maracas, tambourine).
Recording information: Blackwing Studios, London; Idful Music Corp., Chicago.
Stereolab have always been fascinated with a wide range of textures, which, under their special care, come together in a droney, poppy, spacey sound all their own. In their hands, the monotony of mid-'70s Krautrock, the hi-fi effects of so-called space-age bachelor-pad music (strings, eccentric harmonies, odd studio sounds), and the simplicity of the Velvet Underground's dark pop combine into a mighty monolith that pushes popular music's borders, while making heads sway in teeny-bopperish glee.
EMPEROR TOMATO KETCHUP adds a bit of funk to Stereolab's system, making the monolith swing in directions only hinted at previously. "Metronomic Underground," for instance, builds a series of mysterious grooves over its eight-minute span; it's as structured as the title implies, and as smoky as the French cafes Laetitia Sadier's vocals evoke. But the discovery of the groove is only one of Stereolab's newfound pleasures. The spacing of instruments has taken on a whole new dimension (listen to how the interplay of syncopated guitars, shaker and organ constructs the melody of "Tomorrow Is Already Here"), spreading out the band's formerly vertical sound. And their association with studio savant John McEntire (of Tortoise) has elevated the technological aspects always inherent in their creations. Still, jumpy one-note sambas like the title track remain the group's forte; a telling sign that as much as EMPEROR TOMATO KETCHUP widens Stereolab's horizon, it doesn't lose sight of what makes them unique.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 66,058
  • UPC: 5060384616087
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)