Claudine Longet We've Only Just Begun / Let's Spend The Night Together

Get email alerts for Claudine Longet
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 7690
Brand New
Related products:
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Barnaby 30377 (1969)
  • Original Album #2: Barnaby 15001 (1972)

Description by

Claudine Longet's smooth, surreal voice was the key to her creation of some of the most sophisticated pop albums in the 1960s. We've Only Just Begun marks Longet's first work with Barnaby. An impressive transition from the 60s to the 70s is evident upon first listen, which justifies the range of talent that Longet possesses. The album was originally released by Barnaby in 1969.

Originally released by Barnaby in 1972, Let's Spend the Night Together was the last album that Caludine Longet ever recorded. What resulted was a fantastic compilation of Longet's takes on artist's ranging from Kris Kristofferson to Graham Nash to The Rolling Stones. The quality of this album is confirmed with backup musicians such as guitarist Larry Carlton and bassist Joe Osborn.


  • 1.(They Long to Be) Close to You
  • 2.Peace Will Come According to Plan
  • 3.Broomstick Cowboy
  • 4.Long Long Time
  • 5.We've Only Just Begun
  • 6.I'll Be There
  • 7.Ain't No Mountain High Enough
  • 8.What Have They Done to My Song, Ma
  • 9.Cry Me a River
  • 10.Make It With You
  • 11.Electric Moon
  • 12.Prologue / While Youre Sleeping
  • 13.God Only Knows
  • 14.Every Night
  • 15.Hey Thats No Way To Say Goodbye
  • 16.Wake Up To Me Gentle
  • 17.Jealous Guy / Dont Let Me Down
  • 18.When I Loved Him
  • 19.Birds
  • 20.Remember The Good
  • 21.Sleep Song
  • 22.Lets Spend The Night Together
  • 23.Epilogue / While Youre Sleeping

Product Description:

French pop singer Claudine Longet was never known for her strong vocals. A pretty face, Andy Williams' wife, and later a marksman of deadly skill, but never a great singer. These two albums serve as proof of that. We've Only Just Begun (1969) features Longet's fragile wisp of a voice trailing gently through some of the biggest soft pop hits of then-recent vintage as well as a few obscure tracks. The musical backing is cotton-candy sweet, overflowing with strings, gently strummed guitars, and waves of backing vocals in order to give listeners something other than her voice to focus all their attention on. Strangely, it all adds up into a pleasurable listening experience -- a little ironic but still better than it has any right to be. Longet's stilted phrasing and inability to emote even a little give the record an otherworldly feel that elevates the proceedings a notch above the easy listening norm. For some reason, she sounds best on uptempo tracks like "Ain't No Mountain High Enough," "Make It With You," and Donovan's obscure "Electric Moon" -- her take on Bobby Goldsboro's "Broomstick Cowboy" is almost exciting. The ballads are decent enough, though she proves herself to be no Karen Carpenter on "(They Long to Be) Close to You" and "We've Only Just Begun." Where the album falls apart is on tracks like "Cry Me a River" and "What Have They Done to My Song, Ma," where they take an overly cutesy novelty approach. Nobody really needs to hear a riverboat jazz version of "Cry Me a River." Ever. Still, if you skip that song the record is quite enjoyable. So is the album it is paired with on this 2005 release from Collectables. On Let's Spend the Night Together (1972), she takes a slightly hipper approach both in the song selections (the Beach Boys' "God Only Knows," Neil Young's "Birds," Leonard Cohen's "Hey That's No Way to Say Goodbye") and in the arrangements, which are heavy on the acoustic guitars and light on the strings and backing vocals. Longet still sings like a French mannequin, but the surroundings give her more of a chance to show a touch of emotion -- and she does here and there, especially on "God Only Knows" and Kris Kristofferson's "When I Loved Him." Her relaxed bongos-and-slide-guitar version of "Let's Spend the Night Together" is a real easy pop gem; it's hard to believe it hasn't shown up on more compilations and it's also hard to believe anyone could resist her request. No one is going to mistake her for an important artist, but this record and We've Only Just Begun show that she really is no joke, either. ~ Tim Sendra
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 15,147
  • UPC: 090431769027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Thanksgiving Day: Closed
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)